Firestone GP of St. Petersburg – facts, figures, entry list

Occasion date: Friday, Apr. 23 – Sunday, Apr. 25

Monitor: 1.8-mile, 14-turn momentary road circuit (clockwise) by downtown St. Petersburg, FL, plus runway of Albert Whitted Airport.

Race distance: 100 laps (181 miles)

Firestone tire allotment: Six units main, 4 units alternate, one extra set out there for rookies to be used in first apply.

Push-to-pass parameters: 150 seconds of complete time with a most single period of 15 seconds. The push-to-pass will not be out there on the preliminary begin or any restart until it happens within the remaining two laps or three minutes of a timed race.

At-track IndyCar schedule (native/Japanese Time) and broadcast particulars

Friday, Apr. 23

4.15-5.00pm – First apply – Peacock Premium

Saturday, Apr. 24

9.45-10.30am – Second apply – Peacock Premium
1.45-3.00pm – Qualifying – Peacock Premium
10pm – Qualifying – NBCSN

Sunday, Apr. 25

9.05-9.35am – Heat-up – Peacock Premium
12.00pm – Pre-race – NBC Sports activities,, NBC Sports activities app
12.35pm –
“Drivers, begin your engines” – NBC,, NBC Sports activities app
12.42pm –
Inexperienced flag: Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg – NBC,, NBC Sports activities app

*For full on-track schedule, click on right here

Leigh Diffey is the announcer alongside analyst Townsend Bell.

IndyCar Radio Community broadcasts: Mark Jaynes is the chief announcer alongside analyst Davey Hamilton and Nick Yeoman. Jake Question and Michael Younger are the flip announcers. The Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg airs stay on community associates, Sirius 211, XM 205,, and the IndyCar Cellular app powered by NTT DATA. All NTT IndyCar Sequence practices and qualifying can be found on and the IndyCar Cellular app, with qualifying additionally airing on XM 205.

Race Notes

2020 race winner: Josef Newgarden (Crew Penske-Chevrolet), 2h06m12.5948s, 85.572mph.

2020 NTT P1 Award winner: Will Energy (Crew Penske-Chevrolet) 61.0369sec, 106.165mph. 

Qualifying lap file: Jordan King (Ed Carpenter Racing-Chevrolet) 60.0476sec, 107.914mph, March 10, 2018 (set in Spherical 1 of qualifying)

The Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg would be the 18th Indy automobile race on the streets of St. Petersburg, relationship again to 2003. Josef Newgarden gained final 12 months’s race held on the streets of St. Petersburg, which was the championship-deciding race for the primary time.

Scott Dixon, regardless of beginning the race 16 instances and having 50 wins to his title, remains to be in search of his first St. Pete win. His greatest outcomes have been 4 runner-up finishes.

Energy (2010 and ’14), Sebastien Bourdais (2017 and ’18) and  Newgarden (2019 and ’20) are the one entered drivers to win at St. Petersburg greater than as soon as, though Helio Castroneves gained thrice (2006, ’07, ’12), whereas Juan Pablo Montoya gained in 2015 and ’16.

Crew Penske has gained the pole place 10 of the previous 14 St. Petersburg races, together with 9 of the final 11 poles by Energy. Different previous pole winners energetic this weekend embrace Bourdais (2003), Graham Rahal (2009) and Takuma Sato (2014).

Simply two drivers have gained the race from pole – Castroneves (’07) and Energy (’10).

Crew Penske has gained at St. Petersburg 10 instances, together with six of the final 9 races with Castroneves (2012), Energy (2014), Montoya (2015-16) and Newgarden (2019-2020).

Three drivers might be making their first St. Petersburg begins this weekend – Romain Grosjean (Dale Coyne Racing with RWR-Honda), Jimmie Johnson (Chip Ganassi Racing-Honda) and Dalton Kellett (AJ Foyt Racing-Chevrolet). Though a rookie, Scott McLaughlin of Crew Penske-Chevrolet made his IndyCar debut on this monitor in final 12 months’s season finale.

Entry record

No. Driver Hometown Automobile title Crew-Engine
2 Josef Newgarden Nashville, Tennessee Hitachi Crew Penske Crew Penske-Chevrolet
3 Scott McLaughlin (R) Christchurch, New Zealand DEX Imaging Crew Penske Crew Penske-Chevrolet
4 Dalton Kellett Stouffville, Canada Okay-Line Insulators / AJ Foyt Racing A.J. Foyt Enterprises-Chevrolet
5 Pato O’Ward Monterrey, Mexico Arrow McLaren SP Arrow McLaren SP-Chevrolet
7 Felix Rosenqvist Varnamo, Sweden Arrow McLaren SP Arrow McLaren SP-Chevrolet
8 Marcus Ericsson Kumla, Sweden Huski Chocolate Chip Ganassi Racing Chip Ganassi Racing-Honda
9 Scott Dixon Auckland, New Zealand PNC Financial institution Chip Ganassi Racing Chip Ganassi Racing-Honda
10 Alex Palou Barcelona, Spain NTT DATA Honda Chip Ganassi Racing-Honda
12 Will Energy Toowoomba, Australia Verizon 5G Crew Penske Crew Penske-Chevrolet
14 Sebastien Bourdais Le Mans, France ROKiT / AJ Foyt Racing A.J. Foyt Enterprises-Chevrolet
15 Graham Rahal New Albany, Ohio United Leases Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing-Honda
18 Ed Jones Dubai, United Arab Emirates SealMaster Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser Sullivan-Honda
20 Conor Daly Noblesville, Indiana U.S. Air Drive Ed Carpenter Racing-Chevrolet
21 Rinus VeeKay Hoofddorp, Netherlands Sonax / Autogeek Ed Carpenter Racing-Chevrolet
22 Simon Pagenaud Montmorillon, France Menards / Australian Gold Crew Penske Crew Penske-Chevrolet
26 Colton Herta Valencia, California Gainbridge Andretti Autosport-Honda
27 Alexander Rossi Nevada Metropolis, California NAPA AUTO PARTS / AutoNation Andretti Autosport-Honda
28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Fort Lauderdale, Florida DHL Andretti Autosport-Honda
29 James Hinchcliffe Toronto, Canada Genesys Andretti Steinbrenner Autosport-Honda
30 Takuma Sato Tokyo, Japan Panasonic / Protect Cleansers Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing-Honda
48 Jimmie Johnson (R) El Cajon, California Carvana Chip Ganassi Racing Chip Ganassi Racing-Honda
51 Romain Grosjean (R) Geneva, Switzerland Nurtec ODT Dale Coyne Racing with RWR-Honda
59 Max Chilton Reigate, England Carlin Carlin-Chevrolet
60 Jack Harvey Bassingham, England AutoNation/SiriusXM Meyer Shank Racing-Honda


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *