Connacht Rugby | Butler returns and Healy to make 150th appearance in Rainbow Cup interpro with Leinster


The Connacht administration crew have made 5 adjustments to their beginning XV for tomorrow’s Guinness PRO14 Rainbow Cup interpro with Leinster at The Sportsground (ok/o 7.35pm).
Captain Jarrad Butler will make his first look in almost 2 months following suspension and harm – he comes straight into the beginning XV. Denis Buckley comes into the entrance row for his 198th look, whereas Niall Murray begins within the second row. Conor Fitzgerald begins at no.10 following a formidable cameo off the bench towards Ulster, whereas the person who scored the match-winning attempt in that recreation, Peter Sullivan, can be handed a beginning berth on the wing.
There’s additionally a one hundred and fiftieth look for Connacht’s file attempt scorer Matt Healy who is known as on the other wing.
Buckley traces up alongside Dave Heffernan and Finlay Bealham, whereas Gavin Thornbury completes the tight 5. Butler begins at quantity 8 alongside flankers Eoghan Masterson and Conor Oliver.
Caolin Blade companions Conor Fitzgerald, whereas Tom Daly and Sean O’Brien play collectively at centre for the fifth straight recreation. With Healy and Sullivan on the wings, John Porch completes the aspect from full-back.
There’s additionally a welcome return among the many replacements for Sammy Arnold, who hasn’t featured for 4 months since present process chest surgical procedure.
Commenting on the crew choice, Head Coach Andy Pal says:
“We had a terrific win final trip in Belfast, however as all the time this yr it’s now about backing that up and getting some consistency going. Leinster will journey to The Sportsground desirous to keep away from three defeats in order that’s a problem in itself, however we’re additionally assured we will put in a efficiency able to getting a win.
We’ve acquired a number of gamers getting back from harm which is all the time good, and Matt Healy hits a big milestone as nicely so we’re very happy with the crew we’re in a position to choose.”

Saturday eighth April, The Sportsground, kick-off 7.35pm

15. John Porch (37)
14. Peter Sullivan (13)
13. Sean O’Brien (Acad) (8)
12. Tom Daly (45)
11. Matt Healy (149)
10. Conor Fitzgerald (33)
9. Caolin Blade (128)
1. Denis Buckley (197)
2. Dave Heffernan (141)
3. Finlay Bealham (156)
4. Niall Murray (14)
5. Gavin Thornbury (57)
6. Eoghan Masterson (108)
7. Conor Oliver (18)
8. Jarrad Butler (70) (C)

16. Jonny Murphy (14)
17. Matthew Burke (21)
18. Dominic Robertson-McCoy (64)
19. Cian Prendergast (6)
20. Abraham Papali’I (11)
21. Kieran Marmion (183)
22. Sammy Arnold (12)
23. Oran McNulty (1)


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *