H. Boyd McWhorter Student-Athletes of the Year Announced


1 day in the past
SEC Workers

Picture: Southeastern Convention

BIRMINGHAM, Alabama (Could 18, 2021) – Florida ladies’s swimming crew member Savanna Faulconer and Jon Bishop of the Texas A&M males’s observe & area and cross nation crew have been named the 2020-21 Southeastern Convention H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athletes of the Yr, Commissioner Greg Sankey introduced on Tuesday.

The 2 had been chosen by a committee of College Athletics Representatives from SEC universities and every will obtain a $20,000 post-graduate scholarship.

“Savanna and Jon are excellent representatives of student-athletes from throughout the SEC. They each achieved excellence of their aggressive and educational pursuits, which represents the very best stage of success by means of their experiences as student-athletes,” Sankey mentioned. “The H. Boyd McWhorter Award is the very best honor earned by a student-athlete within the SEC and I congratulate each of them together with their households and universities on their excellent achievements, particularly in the course of the distinctive circumstances offered by the final 14 months.”

The McWhorter Award provides to a protracted checklist of educational and athletic achievements for Faulconer, a Greenville, S.C., native. Faulconer, who majored in microbiology and cell science with a minor in instructional sciences and pathogenesis, boasts a 3.93 grade-point common and graduated with Cum Laude honors earlier this month. The swimmer, who plans to attend medical faculty, at the moment serves as an intern with Shands Medical Microbiology Lab and credit that have as the rationale for want to turn out to be a pathologist. Throughout her time at Florida, Faulconer was a four-time CSCAA First Group Scholastic All American and was named to the SEC Tutorial Honor Roll all 4 years she competed with the Gators (2017-2020). She was ranked within the high 16 at nationals within the 400 IM and was awarded All-American standing in 2020. Moreover, she was awarded the UF Swimming and Diving Most Invaluable Participant Award after she positioned nineteenth within the 400 IM for the Gators on the 2017 NCAA Nationwide Championships. Her quickest 400 IM time got here on the 2019 SEC Championships, the place she positioned first within the B-final and ninth total with a time of 4:06.59. That point ranks sixth on UF’s All-time checklist. In her closing yr with the Gators, Faulconer was crew captain and helped lead UF to a second-place end on the 2020 SEC Championships.

Bishop has been a hit story on the sector of competitors and within the classroom. The School Station, Texas, native was the 2020 SEC Indoor and Outside Scholar Athlete of the Yr. He additionally earned USTFCCCA Tutorial All-America Second Group honors. In whole, he has been named to

the SEC Tutorial Honor Roll on six events. In competitors, Bishop was a NCAA Cross Nation Championships qualifier in 2017. He’s a two-time All-SEC finisher, as soon as within the indoor 3000m and as soon as in cross nation. Bishop has 4 Texas A&M all-time top-12 marks to his identify, together with the fourth-best indoor 3000m at 8:06.53. Already a graduate together with his bachelor’s in Utilized Mathematical Sciences, Bishop is at the moment pursuing his grasp’s in laptop science.

The 13 feminine finalists: Alba Cortina Pou, Alabama (Tennis); Kayla McKeon, Arkansas (Soccer); Terri-June Granger, Auburn (Equestrian); Caroline Chipman, Georgia (Soccer); Avery Skinner, Kentucky (Volleyball); Nicole Decker, LSU (Seaside Volleyball); Abigail Buesseler, Ole Miss (Rifle); Elanor Grimwood, Mississippi State (Golf); Amanda Smith, Missouri (Swimming); Kelsey Oh, South Carolina (Softball); Chelsea Seggern, Tennessee (Softball); Camille Conner, Texas A&M (Volleyball); Christina Rosca, Vanderbilt (Tennis).

The 13 male finalists: Sam DiSette, Alabama (Swimming); Grant Morgan, Arkansas (Soccer); Cade Antonucci, Auburn (Monitor & Subject); Cole Johnson, Florida (Monitor & Subject); Davis Thompson, Georgia (Golf); Allen Hamilton, Kentucky (Golf); Braden Nyboer, LSU (Swimming); Cotter Wilson, Ole Miss (Tennis); Daniel Martinez, Mississippi State (Golf); Carter Grimes, Missouri (Swimming); John (Jack) Parrott, South Carolina (Golf); Matthew Butler, Tennessee (Soccer); Cameron Robinson, Vanderbilt (Soccer).

Previous recipients:

1986 – John Younger, Tennessee (observe) and Virginia Diederich, Georgia (swimming)

1987 – Jeff Noblin, Ole Miss (soccer) and Julie Estin, Alabama (gymnastics)

1988 – Danny Hoskins, Ole Miss (soccer) and Linda Leith, Georgia (swimming)

1989 – Mikael Olander, LSU (observe) and Deanne Burnett, Georgia (swimming)

1990 – Burke Masters, Mississippi State (baseball) and Janice Kerr, Florida (gymnastics)

1991 – Al Parker, Georgia (tennis) and Patty Wiegand, Tennessee (observe and cross nation)

1992 – Jeff Laubenthal, Alabama (baseball) and Jenifer Kleyn, Auburn (volleyball)

1993 – Lang Wiseman, Tennessee (basketball) and Aimee York, Mississippi State (volleyball)

1994 – Peter Duitsman, South Carolina (soccer) and Tammy Newlon, Mississippi State (basketball)

1995 – Michael Blanchard, LSU (soccer) and April Ecke, Mississippi State (cross nation)

1996 – Martin Nyberg, LSU (swimming) and Michelle Palmisano, Vanderbilt (basketball)

1997 – Andrew DeVooght, Georgia (swimming) and Meredith Willard, Alabama (gymnastics)

1998 – Jeremy Jackson, Mississippi State (baseball) and Shani Abshier, South Carolina (volleyball)

1999 – Jeff Zurcher, Kentucky (soccer) and Jessica Subject, Arkansas (volleyball)

2000 – Joey Pitts, Georgia (tennis) and Lisette Lee, LSU (golf)

2001 – Scott Westerfield, Mississippi State (soccer) and Kim Black, Georgia (swimming)

2002 – Trey Dyson, South Carolina (baseball) and Tiffany Woolley, Arkansas (softball)

2003 – Matt Bonner, Florida (basketball) and Kristin Sterner, Alabama (gymnastics)

2004 – Caesar Garcia, Auburn (swimming & diving) and Lauren Imwalle, Alabama (soccer)

2005 – Rob Robertson, Ole Miss (soccer) and Lauryn McCalley, Tennessee (swimming & diving)

2006 – Rudy Niswanger, LSU (soccer) and Sarah Lowe, Florida (basketball)

2007 – Emeel Salem, Alabama (baseball) and Erika Schneble, Vanderbilt (observe & area)

2008 – Joseph Sykora, Alabama (golf) and Kristen Hastrup, Auburn (swimming & diving)

2009 – Bram ten Berge, Ole Miss (tennis) and Christine Magnuson, Tennessee (swimming & diving)

2010 – Jordan Anderson, Auburn (swimming & diving) and Phoebe Wright, Tennessee (observe & area)

2011 – Dan Mazzaferro, Auburn (swimming & diving) and Erica Meissner, Auburn (swimming & diving)

2012 – Michael Roth, South Carolina (baseball) and Wendy Trott, Georgia (swimming & diving)

2013 – Barrett Jones, Alabama (soccer) and Chelsea Oswald, Kentucky (observe & area/cross nation)

2014 – Cory Whitsett, Alabama (golf) and Shannon Vreeland, Georgia (swimming)

2015 – Nathanael Franks, Arkansas (observe & area) and Maddie Locus, Georgia (swimming)

2016 – Forrest Gamble, Ole Miss (golf) and Haylie McCleney, Alabama (softball)

2017 – Anton McKee, Alabama (swimming) and Sarah Gibson, Texas A&M (swimming)

2018 – Parker Henry, Tennessee (soccer) and Kelly Quinn, LSU (volleyball)

2019 – Nathan Hite, Texas A&M (observe & area) and Kristin Quah, Vanderbilt (bowling)

2020 – Skylar Mays, LSU (basketball) and Asia Seidt, Kentucky (swimming)


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *