Alphonso Ford Top Scorer Trophy: Alexey Shved, Khimki


For the second time in his profession, Alexey Shved of Khimki Moscow Area has received the Alphonso Ford Prime Scorer Trophy. Shved led all scorers with 19.8 factors so as to add the Ford Trophy for the 2020-21 season to his award from 2017-18. The Ford Trophy is awarded yearly to the Turkish Airways EuroLeague participant with the very best scoring common over a minimal variety of video games. It’s the EuroLeague’s solely end-of-season award that’s based mostly solely on statistics. Shved’s scoring common was half a degree greater than the runner-up, 2018-19 Ford Trophy winner Mike James of CSKA Moscow. Shved scored in double figures in all however one recreation for Khimki this season.

Though he missed Khimki’s first 4 video games, Shved wanted no time to get going, scoring 32 factors in an extra time house loss in opposition to Maccabi Playtika Tel Aviv in his season debut. Shved went on to match his season excessive of 32 factors twice extra – in opposition to FC Bayern Munich in Spherical 22 and LDLC ASVEL Villeurbanne in Spherical 32. In opposition to Bayern, Shved made 15 free throws with out a miss, which is the fifth-best free-throw capturing in competitors historical past. Shved scored not less than 20 factors on 12 events. Greater than only a scorer, he additionally topped the common season charts with 7.7 assists per recreation. Over the past 4 seasons, throughout which he has performed 97 video games, Shved leads the EuroLeague each in collected factors (2,078) and scoring averaged (21.4 ppg.). Behind Shved within the scoring race this season have been James (19.3 ppg.), Jordan Loyd (17.3 ppg.) of Crvena Zvezda, Vasilije Micic (16.4 ppg.) of Anadolu Efes Istanbul and Nikola Mirotic (16.0 ppg.) of FC Barcelona.

Shved averaged 21.8 factors per recreation when he captured the Ford Trophy for the 2017-18 season. He raised his common within the 2018-19 marketing campaign to 23.3 factors, however took half in simply 14 video games, which left him ineligible for the award. Shved was second in scoring within the 2019-20 season with 21.4 factors per recreation, behind solely Shane Larkin (22.2 ppg.), when the competitors got here to a untimely finish as a result of COVID-19 pandemic.

A product of the CSKA Moscow youth system, Shved was a member of CSKA’s EuroLeague-winning squad in 2008 and he helped the crew get to the EuroLeague Championship Recreation in 2009 and 2012. After three seasons within the NBA with Minnesota, Philadelphia, Houston and New York, Shved joined Khimki in 2015 and has been the face of the franchise ever since. He was chosen because the 2016-17 7DAYS EuroCup MVP and earned All-EuroLeague honors the next season. Amongst his different main achievements are serving to the Russian nationwide crew win respective bronze medals at EuroBasket 2011 in Lithuania and the 2012 Olympic Video games in London.

Shved is the third multiple-winner of the Ford Trophy because it was first awarded in 2005. The opposite two are Igor Rakocevic, with Tau Ceramica Vitoria-Gasteiz in 2007 and 2009 and with Anadolu Efes Istanbul in 2011; and Keith Langford with Olimpia Milan in 2014 and UNICS Kazan in 2017. The opposite Ford Trophy winners are Nando De Colo of CSKA Moscow (2016); Taylor Rochestie of Nizhny Novgorod (2015); Bobby Brown (2013) and Bo McCalebb (2012), each of Montepaschi Siena; Linas Kleiza of Olympiacos Piraeus (2010); Marc Salyers of Chorale Roanne (2008); Drew Nicholas of Benetton Treviso (2006); and Charles Smith of Scavolini Pesaro (2005).

The trophy is known as in reminiscence of the late Alphonso Ford, who died of leukemia in September 2004 after an excellent profession during which he was the competitors’s main scorer twice, in 2000-01 and 2001-02, each seasons with Olympiacos. He subsequently led Siena in scoring because it reached the 2003 Remaining 4. Ford owns the EuroLeague’s all-time greatest scoring common with 22.2 factors in 54 profession video games. Shved is fourth (16.8 ppg.) on that record, trailing Panos Liadelis (19.3 ppg.) and Arvydas Macijauskas (17.4 ppg.). The Ford Trophy is the primary in a sequence of EuroLeague end-of-season honors. Different awards to be introduced this week embody the EuroLeague Greatest Defender and the EuroLeague Rising Star. The All-EuroLeague honorees will likely be introduced later and the MVP award at this season’s Remaining 4 in Cologne, Germany. The Alexander Gomelskiy Coach of the 12 months Trophy and the EuroLeague Membership Government of the 12 months are post-season awards.


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *