St. James Earns Spirit of Ford Award


Amelia Island, FL — Sports activities automobile and Indy automobile racing pioneer Lyn St. James was offered with the celebrated Spirit of Ford Award in a shock ceremony as half final weekend’s Amelia Island Concours d’Magnificence.

The award is Ford Motor Firm’s highest honor in auto racing, recognizing lifetime achievement and contribution to the trade each on and off the race observe. St. James — a tireless promoter for alternatives for ladies and minorities within the sport — turns into the twenty seventh recipient, becoming a member of a global listing of honorees from all types of racing and racing media.

“Lyn’s achievements on the observe are particular, however what she has completed off the observe is simply as vital to us in defining her legacy,” stated Ford CEO Jim Farley. “Whereas racing for us, was additionally a shopper advisor to Ford on girls’s points, together with educating girls on the car-buying course of and methods to preserve their automobiles throughout their possession.

“I’ve all the time been impressed by how onerous Lyn labored to be a profitable driver,” stated Edsel B. Ford II. “She has labored simply as onerous to present so many younger drivers the identical sort of mentorships that she had in her profession. She’s a really worthy honoree of the Spirit of Ford Award.”

St. James started her skilled racing profession with Ford within the early Nineteen Eighties, competing in additional than 100 SCCA Trans-Am and IMSA races. She received her class twice on the Rolex 24 at Daytona, the 12 Hours of Sebring as soon as, and have become the primary and solely lady to win an IMSA GT sports activities automobile race solo in 1985 at Watkins Glen.

She went on to run the Indianapolis 500 seven occasions, together with being the primary lady to win Rookie of the Yr honors in 1992. St. James held 21 worldwide and nationwide closed circuit pace information for ladies over a 20-year interval, together with 225.722 mph throughout qualifying for the 1995 Indy 500.

She can be the founding father of Girls within the Winner’s Circle Basis, a 501c3 group for the training, coaching and development of ladies in automotive fields. At present, she is a part of NASCAR’s Range Council, the A.C.C.U.S. North American Consultant on FIA Girls in Motorsports Fee, and a part of the A.C.C.U.S. Range and Inclusion Advisory Panel.

Spirit of Ford Award Winners

— Invoice Stroppe, 1988
— Bob Glidden, 1989
— Chris Economaki, 1990
— Richard Petty, 1992
— Bob Bondurant, 1993
— Mario Andretti, 1994
— Jackie Stewart, 1994
— Bud Moore, 1995
— Parnelli Jones, 1996
— Jim Clark, 1997
— Phil Hill, 1998
— Stirling Moss, 1998
— Invoice France Sr., 1998
— Invoice France Jr., 1998
— Junie Donlavey Jr., 1999
— Glen Wooden, 1999
— Leonard Wooden, 1999
— Dan Gurney, 1999
— Denise McCluggage, 2000
— Invoice Elliott, 2000
— Carroll Shelby, 2001
— Wally Parks, 2001
— Ned Jarrett, 2003
— Mose Nowland, 2005
— Jack Roush, 2006
— John Power, 2010
— Kevin Kennedy, 2011
— A.J. Foyt, 2017
— Lyn St. James, 2021


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *