Euro 2020: Spurs striker Bergwijn dropped from 26-man Netherlands team


Euro 2020: Spurs striker Bergwijn is main casualty as Netherlands trim Euro 2020 squad

Euro 2020: Tottenham striker Bergwijn dropped from Netherlands Euro 2020 squad- Steven Bergwijn has been dropped from the 26-man Netherland squad introduced on Wednesday by coach Frank de Boer. The squad for subsequent month’s European Championship noticed the axing eight gamers from a preliminary squad named earlier this month.

A scarcity of taking part in time at Tottenham Hotspur for 23-year-old Bergwijn over the ultimate months of the Premier League seemed to have price him the prospect of constructing the choice as De Boer selected as a substitute the uncapped Cody Gakpo from PSV Eindhoven in his listing of strikers.
The ultimate squad was launched by social media forward of a information convention that De Boer was giving at 1400 GMT.

Additionally Learn: Euro 2020: Christian Eriksen, Kasper Schmeichel to steer Denmark squad in Euro 2020

Veteran goalkeeper Maarten Stekelenburg, who performed within the 2010 World Cup remaining however solely not too long ago noticed league motion with Ajax Amsterdam after years as a reserve at Everton, was chosen as one of many three goalkeepers, forward of Marco Bizot of AZ Alkmaar.

At 38, Stekelenberg will likely be one of many oldest squad members on the match
Anwar El Ghazi, Hans Hateboer, Rick Karsdorp, Jeremiah St Juste, Kenny Tete and Tonny Vilhena had been the opposite gamers dropped after the Netherlands accomplished a mini camp on Wednesday.

De Boer saved the 19-year-old Ajax Amsterdam defender Timber, who’ve made a robust impression within the second half of the Dutch league season however has but to play for the nationwide workforce.

Daley Blind, who suffered a severe ankle damage in March, was additionally included as he works his manner again to full health.

Additionally Learn In Hindi: UEFA चैंपियंस लीग फाइनल के टिकट 30 मिनट में बिक गए, चेल्सी बनाम मैनचेस्टर सिटी शनिवार को होगा LIVE

The squad will reassemble on Friday forward of a week-long coaching camp in Portugal, the place they may even play a pleasant in opposition to Scotland on June 2. They’ll play a second warm-up worldwide in Enschede in opposition to Georgia on June 6.

Their opening Euro 2020 Group C match is in opposition to Ukraine in Amsterdam on June 13.


Goalkeepers: Jasper Cillessen (Valencia), Tim Krul (Norwich Metropolis), Maarten Stekelenburg (Ajax Amsterdam)

Defenders: Nathan Ake (Manchester Metropolis), Daley Blind (Ajax Amsterdam), Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus), Stefan de Vrij (Inter Milan), Denzel Dumfries (PSV Eindhoven), Jurriem Timber (Ajax Amsterdam), Patrick van Aanholt (Crystal Palace), Joel Veltman (Brighton & Hove Albion), Owen Wijndal (AZ Alkmaar)

Midfielders: Frenkie de Jong (Barcelona), Marten de Roon (Atalanta), Ryan Gravenberch, Davy Klaassen (each Ajax Amsterdam), Teun Koopmeiners (AZ Alkmaar), Donny van de Beek (Manchester United), Georginio Wijnaldum (Liverpool)

Forwards: Steven Berghuis (Feyenoord), Luuk de Jong (Sevilla), Memphis Depay (Olympique Lyonnais), Cody Gakpo, Donyell Malen (each PSV Eindhoven), Quincy Promes (Spartak Moscow), Wout Weghorst (Wolfsburg).


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *