McGrath Leads Leinster For Glasgow Trip – Irish Rugby


Luke McGrath will captain Leinster, on the event of his one hundred and fiftieth provincial cap, as they resume their Guinness PRO14 Rainbow Cup marketing campaign away to Glasgow Warriors.

For the 8.15pm kick-off at Scotstoun Stadium, head coach Leo Cullen has made seven personnel adjustments and one positional change to the crew that received 21-17 towards Ulster final trip.

Hugo Keenan returns at full-back with Jimmy O’Brien switching to the left wing, and there’s a begin on the precise aspect for Tommy O’Brien, the previous Eire Underneath-20 captain.

Garry Ringrose is joined in midfield by Rory O’Loughlin, whereas Luke McGrath, who captains the province as he hits the 150-cap mark, and Ross Byrne pair up once more at half-back.

A very new entrance row options Ed Byrne, Ronan Kelleher and the soon-to-be-retired Michael Bent. James Ryan’s lock companion this week is Ross Molony.

Cullen’s males, who path Rainbow Cup leaders Benetton Rugby by 10 factors with two rounds remaining, have an unchanged again row of Josh Murphy, Josh van der Flier and Caelan Doris.

Assistant coach Robin McBryde commented: “It’s an incredible problem for us as a gaggle, to be heading to Glasgow. It’s nonetheless a possibility for silverware, it’s a must-win recreation for each groups.

“So, it’s a giant problem mentally to go there and entrance up. No excuses. We’ve obtained to do the identical the next week once we welcome 1,200 supporters again and that’s nice motivation for us as effectively.

“A few of the Lions boys need to give a superb account of themselves, among the different boys need to put their arms up for worldwide honours in the summertime. There’s loads to play for while you search for it.”

LEINSTER (v Glasgow Warriors): Hugo Keenan; Tommy O’Brien, Garry Ringrose, Rory O’Loughlin, Jimmy O’Brien; Ross Byrne, Luke McGrath (capt); Ed Byrne, Ronan Kelleher, Michael Bent, Ross Molony, James Ryan, Josh Murphy, Josh van der Flier, Caelan Doris.

Replacements: Dan Sheehan, Peter Dooley, Andrew Porter, Ryan Baird, Scott Penny, Rowan Osborne, Jordan Larmour, Cian Kelleher.

Earlier Story
Nucifora: ‘Home Recreation An Important Half Of Irish Rugby Panorama’

Subsequent Story
Delahunt To Change into Connacht Centurion In Season Finale


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *