Facts of the Champions: Anadolu Efes Istanbul


Anadolu Efes Istanbul has gained its first EuroLeague championship! It’s the second Turkish staff to win the competitors – Fenerbahce Istanbul lifted the trophy in 2017.

…head coach Ergin Ataman and all Efes gamers are new EuroLeague champions, too! It’s the first time {that a} staff, a coach and all of its gamers are new EuroLeague champions since Zalgiris Kaunas in 1999!

…Coach Ataman has gained his fourth completely different continental title! He gained the Saporta Cup with Montepaschi Siena in 2002, the EuroChallenge with Besiktas Istanbul in 2012, and the 7DAYS EuroCup with Galatasaray Istanbul in 2015. Solely two coaches had beforehand gained 4 completely different European competitions: Dusan Ivkovic (EuroLeague, EuroCup, Saporta, Korac) and Aito Garcia Reneses (EuroCup, Saporta, Korac, EuroChallenge).

…Coach Ataman grew to become the third coach to win European competitions with 4 completely different groups! He gained titles with Siena, Besiktas and Galatasaray. Zeljko Obradovic has gained European titles with six completely different groups: Partizan Belgrade, Joventut Badalona, Benetton Treviso, Actual Madrid, Panathinaikos Athens, and Fenerbahce. Ivkovic (Partizan, AEK Athens, Olympiacos Piraeus, Dynamo Moscow) and Bozidar Maljkovic (Cut up, Limoges, Panathinaikos, Unicaja Malaga) have additionally gained with 4 groups apiece.

…Coach Ataman is the third coach to win the EuroLeague and EuroCup titles? Solely Ivkovic (Olympiacos 1997, 2012; Dynamo Moscow 2006) and David Blatt (Maccabi 2014, Darussafaka 2018) did it earlier than him.

Rodrigue Beaubois has develop into the primary French participant to win the EuroLeague and NBA titles! He gained the NBA title with the Dallas Mavericks in 2011!

Tibor Pleiss has develop into the primary German participant to win the EuroLeague in almost 20 years? Solely three German gamers had gained the EuroLeague title earlier than Pleiss – Christian Welp with Olympiacos in 1997, Michael Koch with Panathinaikos in 2000 and Patrick Femerling in 2003.


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *