Silver Knights’ Murphy wins Eddie Shore Award


SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League introduced in the present day that Ryan Murphy of the Henderson Silver Knights is the winner of the Eddie Shore Award because the AHL’s excellent defenseman for the 2020-21 season.

The award was voted on by coaches, gamers and members of the media in every of the league’s 28 energetic cities.

Murphy led all AHL defensemen in scoring in 2020-21, accumulating 5 targets and 22 assists for 27 factors in 37 video games for a Silver Knights crew that completed atop the Pacific Division in the course of the common season. Murphy’s 14 power-play factors have been tied for second in all the league, and his 78 photographs on purpose have been tied for first amongst blueliners. He was named to the Pacific Division All-Star Group final week.

A primary-round selection (twelfth general) by Carolina within the 2011 NHL Draft, Murphy signed with Henderson on August 14, 2020, after spending final season within the KHL. The native of Aurora, Ont., has skated in 232 profession AHL contests with Henderson, Binghamton, Iowa and Charlotte, totaling 22 targets and 124 assists for 146 factors, and took part within the AHL All-Star Traditional in 2015. Murphy has performed 175 NHL video games with Carolina, Minnesota and New Jersey, compiling eight targets and 35 assists.

This award was first introduced by the AHL in 1958-59 in honor of the late Eddie Shore, a member of each the Hockey Corridor of Fame and the American Hockey League Corridor of Fame who’s broadly considered one among hockey’s best defensemen. Shore gained a complete of seven Calder Cups in his profession, together with two as the overall supervisor of the Buffalo Bisons and 5 because the longtime proprietor of the Springfield Indians. Earlier recipients of the Eddie Shore Award embrace Steve Kraftcheck (1959), Bob McCord (1961, ’67), Al Arbour (1965), Jim Morrison (1966), Noel Worth (1970, ’72, ’76), Brian Engblom (1977), Terry Murray (1978, ’79), Dave Farrish (1982), Brad Shaw (1987), Dave Fenyves (1988, ’89), Eric Weinrich (1990), Darren Rumble (1997), John Slaney (2001, ’02), Niklas Kronwall (2005), Johnny Boychuk (2009), Mark Barberio (2012), Justin Schultz (2013), T.J. Brennan (2014, ’16), Sami Niku (2018) and Jake Bean (2020).

In operation since 1936, the American Hockey League continues to function the highest improvement league for all 31 Nationwide Hockey League groups. Almost 90 p.c of all gamers competing within the NHL are AHL graduates, and thru the years the American Hockey League has been house to greater than 100 honored members of the Hockey Corridor of Fame.

The winner of the 2020-21 Dudley (Purple) Garrett Memorial Award (excellent rookie) might be introduced Thursday.


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *