Road to qualify Canada vs ROC IIHF 2021 quarter-final: live stream, Playoffs Bracket and How to Watch – Project Spurs

[ad_1]

Picture supply: TSN CA

What started because the worst begin on the worldwide stage within the historical past of Canadian males’s hockey has turn out to be a comeback story that isn’t fairly completed on the 2021 IIHF World Championship in Riga, Latvia.

After getting shut out of their match opener to Latvia and beginning 0-3, the Canadians received their subsequent three. Regardless of shedding of their remaining preliminary sport to Finland in an extra time shootout, the loss tied them in factors with Kazakhstan at 10 within the standings. Canada received the groups’ head-to-head final Friday, giving them the sting within the tie-breaker, and placing them within the playoffs.

Match Particulars

Dates Friday, Could 21 – Sunday, June 6, 2021
Location Riga, Latvia
Venue Olympic Sports activities Centre and Area Riga
Channel NHL Community (USA), TSN (Canada)
Reside Stream PremiumTV (Worldwide)

Russia vs Canada Recreation Preview

They are saying the cream all the time rises to the highest, and Canada wish to lend some credibility to that assertion as they give the impression of being to maintain their play above their seeding place suggests. Happily for them, they have been in a position to leverage a weak back-half schedule, selecting on Norway, Kazakhstan, and Italy in three of their final 4 video games. Canada outscored that stretch of opponents 15-5 to rebound from itemizing their first three contests on the Worlds. Even in a shedding effort to finish the preliminaries, the Canadians confirmed they’ve flipped the swap, taking Finland to an extra time shootout.

How good Canada actually is will certainly be examined on Wednesday morning as they tackle the match’s group, the Russian Olympic Committee (ROC). The ROC completed the preliminary spherical with an opponent rating differential of practically three-to-one, netting 28 targets and permitting simply 10. The ten targets allowed stands out much more when contemplating three of their opponents scored no less than 20 targets within the match. One other group that performs an environment friendly sport on offense, protection, and within the penalty column, the ROC is a juggernaut. Canada and the ROC play their sport contained in the Olympic Sports activities Centre the place the ROC has performed all match. Puck-drop is at 1:15 PM EST / 10:15 AM PST.

Finland vs Czech Republic

The Czech Republic’s solely losses on the Worlds got here from the ROC and Switzerland and have been their first two video games of the match. The loss to the ROC was even a decent 4-3 defeat as a result of a ROC objective with 19 seconds left within the third interval. For the reason that first weekend ended, the Czech Republic completed 2-2-0-0, with extra time wins over Denmark and Belarus. Their 27 targets scored tied Switzerland for the second-most within the opening spherical. They did enable 18 scores by their opponents, although the ROC and Switzerland account for 9 of them. If there’s an space that Finland can exploit, it’s doubtless their energy play protection, the place the Czech Republic has allowed seven targets regardless of committing simply 25 penalties.

Talking f penalties, Finland was the least penalized group within the preliminaries on the Worlds, averaging just below 4 minutes per sport within the field. Though they have a tendency to maintain all of their our bodies on the ice, after they’ve had the benefit, they’ve been unable to do a lot with it, scoring simply three targets in 10 power-play alternatives. Finland’s power within the match has been their essential timing. Although they allowed simply 11 targets (one shootout) 5 of their video games have been determined by one level, with three going into extra time or an extra time shootout. Finland received their final 5 video games on the Worlds, although began slipping towards the tip. Their remaining two video games in opposition to Latvia and Canada have been two of their extra time victories. The sport between Finland and the Czech Republic on the Area Riga will start at 1:15 PM EST / 10 AM PST.

Playoff Bracket

Canada joins Finland, Germany, and the US because the quarterfinal qualifiers from Group B, whereas Switzerland, Slovakia, the ROC, and the Czech Republic enter from Group A. The US and the ROC enter the playoffs as champions of their respective teams and can play the fourth-place groups from the alternative group. This places Canada in opposition to the ROC, whereas the US faces Slovakia. Group A’s second-place group, Switzerland, will face Group B’s third-place Germany. Finland and the Czech Republic make up the match up after ending second and third in Group B and A respectively.

Quarterfinals Venue Opponent 1 Opponent 2
Thursday, June 3
9:15 AM EST / 8:15 AM CST / 6 AM PST
Olympic Sports activities Centre Switzerland Germany
Thursday, June 3
9:15 AM EST / 8:15 AM CST / 6 AM PST
Area Riga USA Slovakia
Thursday, June 3
1:15 PM EST / 12:15 PM CST / 10:15 AM PST
Olympic Sports activities Centre ROC Canada
Thursday, June 3
1:15 PM EST / 12:15 PM CST / 10:15 AM PST
Area Riga Finland Czech Republic
Semi-Finals Venue Opponent 1 Opponent 2
Saturday, June 5
7:15 AM EST / 6:15 AM CST / 4:15 AM PST
Area Riga TBD TBD
Saturday, June 5
11:15 AM EST / 10:15 AM CST / 8:15 AM PST
Area Riga TBD TBD
Bronze Medal Recreation Venue Opponent 1 Opponent 2
Sunday, June 6
8:15 AM EST / 7:15 AM CST / 5:15 AM PST
Area Riga SF Loser 1 SF Loser 2
Gold Medal Recreation Venue Opponent 1 Opponent 2
Sunday, June 6
1:15 PM EST / 12:15 PM CST / 10:15 AM PST
Area Riga SF Winner 1 SF Winner 2



[ad_2]

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *