What time does the Home Run Derby start? TV schedule, participants & more to watch MLB’s 2021 contest


Get able to see some baseballs get hit a great distance. 

Eight of MLB’s greatest energy hitters will step into the batters’ field at Coors Subject — one of the crucial hitter-friendly ballparks within the sport — for the 2021 House Run Derby. 

And there are some thrilling tales to comply with on this 12 months’s derby. Can Shohei Ohtani turn into the primary pitcher to win all of it? Will Pete Alonso be the third participant to win back-to-back titles? Is Trevor Story set to turn into the fourth hometown hero to placed on a present for the native followers? 

This is all the data you have to watch the House Run Derby on Monday. 

MORE: Watch the House Run Derby on fuboTV (7-day free trial)

What time is the House Run Derby in 2021?

  • Date: Monday, July 12
  • Time: 8 p.m. ET

MLB’s 2021 House Run Derby is scheduled to begin at 8 p.m. ET on Monday, July 12. It lasts three rounds, with eight MLB gamers slugging it out in a bracket-style competitors till a champion is topped. 

watch the 2021 House Run Derby

Followers could have two choices in the case of watching the 2021 House Run Derby. There would be the conventional broadcast with Karl Ravech, Eduardo Perez, Buster Olney and Marly Rivera calling the sport on ESPN, and there would be the Statcast version on ESPN2 with Jason Benetti, Jessica Mendoza and Mike Petriello. 

Each choices might be out there for streaming on ESPN+ or fuboTV, which affords a seven-day free trial. 

House Run Derby contributors 2021

The sector for the 2021 House Run Derby was finalized this week, with the ultimate three — Matt Olson, Juan Soto and Joey Gallo — confirmed to hitch Shohei Ohtani, Pete Alonso, Trey Mancini Trevor Story and Salvador Perez in Coors Subject on Monday to take part within the slugfest. 

The brackets for the primary spherical of the match had been finalized on Wednesday night time as nicely, with the winner of Ohtani vs. Soto set to face off towards Perez vs. Alonso on one aspect of the semifinals and the winner of Gallo vs. Story poised to battle the victor of Olson vs. Mancini on the opposite aspect. The winners of the semifinals will then conflict to determine the 2021 House Run Derby champion. 

Bracket 1

Seed Batter
1 Shohei Ohtani
8 Juan Soto

Bracket 2

Seed Batter
4 Salvador Perez
5 Pete Alonso

Bracket 3

Seed Batter
2 Joey Gallo
7 Trevor Story

Bracket 4

Seed Batter
3 Matt Olson
6 Trey Mancini

Previous House Run Derby champions

This is who has gained the House Run Derby previously. Ken Griffey Jr. is the one hitter to win the derby in Colorado. He additionally holds the document for probably the most House Run Derby wins general, sitting at three, together with 1998 and 1999 when he grew to become the primary participant to win the occasion in back-to-back years. 

12 months Participant Staff Park (Metropolis)
2019 Pete Alonso Mets Progressive Subject (Cleveland)
2018 Bryce Harper Nationals Nationals Park (Washington, D.C.)
2017 Aaron Decide Yankees Marlins Park (Miami)
2016 Giancarlo Stanton Marlins Petco Park (San Diego)
2015 Todd Frazier Reds Nice American Ballpark (Cincinnati)
2014 Yoenis Cespedes Athletics Goal Subject (Minneapolis)
2013 Yoenis Cespedes Athletics Citi Subject (New York Metropolis)
2012 Prince Fielder Tigers Kauffman Park (Kansas Metropolis)
2011 Robinson Cano Yankees Chase Subject (Phoenix)
2010 David Ortiz Purple Sox Angel Stadium (Anaheim)
2009 Prince Fielder Brewers Busch Stadium (St. Louis)
2008 Justin Morneau Twins Yankee Stadium (New York Metropolis)
2007 Vladimir Guerrero Angels AT&T Park (San Francisco)
2006 Ryan Howard Phillies PNC Park (Pittsburgh)
2005 Bobby Abreu Phillies Comerica Park (Detroit)
2004 Miguel Tejada Orioles Minute Maid Park (Houston)
2003 Garret Anderson Angels U.S. Mobile Subject (Chicago)
2002 Jason Giambi Yankees Miller Park (Milwaukee)
2001 Luis Gonzalez Diamondbacks Safeco Subject (Seattle)
2000 Sammy Sosa Cubs Turner Subject (Atlanta)
1999 Ken Griffey Jr. Mariners Fenway Park (Boston)
1998 Ken Griffey Jr. Mariners Coors Subject (Colorado)
1997 Tino Martinez Yankees Jacobs Subject (Cleveland)
1996 Barry Bonds Giants Veterans Stadium (Philadelphia)
1995 Frank Thomas White Sox The Ballpark in Arlington (Arlington)
1994 Ken Griffey Jr. Mariners Three Rivers Stadium (Pittsburgh)
1993 Juan Gonzalez Rangers Oriole Park at Camden Yards (Baltimore)
1992 Mark McGwire Athletics Jack Murphy Stadium (San Diego)
1991 Cal Ripken Jr. Orioles SkyDome (Toronto)
1990 Ryne Sandberg Cubs Wrigley Subject (Chicago)
1989* Ruben Sierra Rangers Anaheim Stadium (Anaheim)
1989* Eric Davis Reds Anaheim Stadium (Anaheim)
1987 Andre Dawson Cubs Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum (Oakland)
1986* Wally Joyner Angels Astrodome (Houston)
1986* Darryl Strawberry Mets Astrodome (Houston)
1985 Dave Parker Reds Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome (Minneapolis)

*Each 1986 and 1989 noticed ties within the House Run Derby


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *