What channel is the Home Run Derby on today? Time, participants for 2021 MLB All-Star contest


After an absence in 2020 because of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Residence Run Derby is again. 

And it ought to return with a bang. Coors Area is likely one of the most hitter-friendly ballparks in baseball, with Baseball Savant itemizing it because the fifth-best stadium to hit house runs. 

This can even be the sixth season the derby is performed in brackets. The sluggers can be paired off in brackets aiming to out-hit the opposite in a format that has grow to be well-liked amongst followers for its fast-paced motion. 

This is a breakdown of how one can watch the Residence Run Derby on Monday. 

MORE: Watch the Residence Run Derby stay with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

What channel is the Residence Run Derby on right this moment? 

  • TV channel: ESPN | ESPN2 (Statcast) | SN (Canada) | SN1 (Canada)
  • Stay stream: ESPN+ | fuboTV

Seeking to see some baseballs put into orbit? Tune into ESPN to look at the motion at Coors Area. If you happen to’re within the numbers behind every lengthy ball, comply with the occasion on ESPN2, the place the Statcast broadcast can be carried. Karl Ravech and Eduardo Perez can be within the sales space for the protection on ESPN with Buster Olney and Marly Rivera reporting on the printed, whereas Jason Benetti, Jessica Mendoza and Mike Petriello will name the Statcast version. 

For these desirous to stream the occasion on-line, followers can discover the printed on ESPN+ and on fuboTV, which gives a seven-day free trial. 

What time does the Residence Run Derby begin?

  • Time: 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT

Stay protection of the Residence Run Derby will begin on Monday at 7 p.m. ET with Baseball Tonight airing on ESPN and on ESPN2, with the latter being the Statcast Version. The derby itself will start at 8 p.m. ET. 

2021 Residence Run Derby individuals

The 2021 area seems set to ship an exhilarating present on Monday. There’s two-way phenom Shohei Ohtani, reigning derby champ Pete Alonso, hometown hero Trevor Story and younger star Juan Soto all set to take their swings in Coors Area. And that is only a begin. Rangers outfielder Joey Gallo might need probably the most uncooked energy of any participant within the majors, Royals catcher Salvador Perez may grow to be the primary catcher to win the derby, Athletics first baseman Matt Olson has been top-of-the-line energy hitters previously 4 years and Orioles first baseman Trey Mancini is having a outstanding comeback season after beating most cancers. 

This is how the primary spherical of brackets will form up within the first spherical of the Residence Run Derby. 

Bracket 1

Seed Batter
1 Shohei Ohtani
8 Juan Soto

Bracket 2

Seed Batter
4 Salvador Perez
5 Pete Alonso

Bracket 3

Seed Batter
2 Joey Gallo
7 Trevor Story

Bracket 4

Seed Batter
3 Matt Olson
6 Trey Mancini

Previous Residence Run Derby champions

Just one participant has received the derby thrice, and that will be Corridor of Famer Ken Griffey Jr., who received the second of his three crowns in Coors Area again in 1998. He went on to win the following 12 months at Fenway Park for his second straight title — the primary of two gamers to win in back-to-back years. Yoenis Cespedes was the second batter to win in back-to-back years, when he received in 2013 and 2014. If Alonso wins this 12 months, he’d be the third participant to win in two straight derbies. 

This is the total checklist of previous champions within the Residence Run Derby. 

Yr Participant Crew Park (Metropolis)
2019 Pete Alonso Mets Progressive Area (Cleveland)
2018 Bryce Harper Nationals Nationals Park (Washington, D.C.)
2017 Aaron Choose Yankees Marlins Park (Miami)
2016 Giancarlo Stanton Marlins Petco Park (San Diego)
2015 Todd Frazier Reds Nice American Ballpark (Cincinnati)
2014 Yoenis Cespedes Athletics Goal Area (Minneapolis)
2013 Yoenis Cespedes Athletics Citi Area (New York Metropolis)
2012 Prince Fielder Tigers Kauffman Park (Kansas Metropolis)
2011 Robinson Cano Yankees Chase Area (Phoenix)
2010 David Ortiz Pink Sox Angel Stadium (Anaheim)
2009 Prince Fielder Brewers Busch Stadium (St. Louis)
2008 Justin Morneau Twins Yankee Stadium (New York Metropolis)
2007 Vladimir Guerrero Angels AT&T Park (San Francisco)
2006 Ryan Howard Phillies PNC Park (Pittsburgh)
2005 Bobby Abreu Phillies Comerica Park (Detroit)
2004 Miguel Tejada Orioles Minute Maid Park (Houston)
2003 Garret Anderson Angels U.S. Mobile Area (Chicago)
2002 Jason Giambi Yankees Miller Park (Milwaukee)
2001 Luis Gonzalez Diamondbacks Safeco Area (Seattle)
2000 Sammy Sosa Cubs Turner Area (Atlanta)
1999 Ken Griffey Jr. Mariners Fenway Park (Boston)
1998 Ken Griffey Jr. Mariners Coors Area (Colorado)
1997 Tino Martinez Yankees Jacobs Area (Cleveland)
1996 Barry Bonds Giants Veterans Stadium (Philadelphia)
1995 Frank Thomas White Sox The Ballpark in Arlington (Arlington)
1994 Ken Griffey Jr. Mariners Three Rivers Stadium (Pittsburgh)
1993 Juan Gonzalez Rangers Oriole Park at Camden Yards (Baltimore)
1992 Mark McGwire Athletics Jack Murphy Stadium (San Diego)
1991 Cal Ripken Jr. Orioles SkyDome (Toronto)
1990 Ryne Sandberg Cubs Wrigley Area (Chicago)
1989* Ruben Sierra Rangers Anaheim Stadium (Anaheim)
1989* Eric Davis Reds Anaheim Stadium (Anaheim)
1987 Andre Dawson Cubs Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum (Oakland)
1986* Wally Joyner Angels Astrodome (Houston)
1986* Darryl Strawberry Mets Astrodome (Houston)
1985 Dave Parker Reds Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome (Minneapolis)

*Each 1986 and 1989 noticed ties within the Residence Run Derby


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *