Home Run Derby format, explained: Number of rounds, time limits & tie rules for 2021 contest


The House Run Derby has undergone plenty of format modifications for the reason that inaugural competitors in 1985. 

It was once accomplished in innings, then outs and now it’s accomplished in time. It went from a wide-open subject to brackets of gamers. 

However the newest format appears to be a preferred one. Followers benefit from the sooner tempo with batters being now extra inclined to swing typically versus ready for the precise proper pitch to come back by. 

Here is a rundown of what to anticipate out of the format within the 2021 House Run Derby.

MORE: Breaking down the House Run Derby subject

What number of rounds are within the derby? 

There are three rounds in the House Run Derby, which operates in a bracket type. Two opponents might be pitted in opposition to each other within the quarterfinals with each hoping to hit as many residence runs as they’ll within the time allotted to them. The batter with essentially the most residence runs strikes on to the semifinals, the place he’ll face off in opposition to the winner of the neighboring bracket. The 2 hitters will undergo the method once more to determine who might be paired up within the finals of the House Run Derby. 

This has been the format of the derby since 2015 when, for the primary time, individuals confronted off in a bracket to achieve the finals. Beforehand, every participant was allotted plenty of outs to work with — any swing that did not end in a house run was thought-about an out — to hit as many residence runs as potential. Every hitter had 10 outs from 1991 via 2013 earlier than it was modified to simply seven outs in 2014. The highest 4 in residence runs superior to the semifinals, working to slim the sector down to simply the remaining two for the ultimate spherical. 

What are the deadlines? 

Below the brand new format, batters have three minutes every to hit as many residence runs as they’ll. The finals might be two minutes. They’re allowed to take as many swings as they want as they don’t face a penalty for swinging and failing to hit a house run. The clock begins as quickly as the primary pitch is thrown. Gamers can take one timeout at any level in the course of the spherical. 

Batters can prolong their deadlines by 30 seconds in the event that they launch two baseballs equal to or farther than 440 ft. That point could be moved as much as 60 seconds if a house run is shipped greater than 475 ft. 

What occurs in a tie? 

There are two steps for a tie within the House Run Derby. Step one is a one-minute spherical the place every batter could have a minute to hit as many residence runs as they’ll. Ought to the batters stay tied after that spherical, there might be three-swing swing-offs till a winner is determined. 

There had by no means been a tie within the first first 4 years of the brand new format, however followers had the prospect to see it happen for the primary time in Cleveland within the 2019 derby, when Vladimir Guerrero Jr. and Joc Pederson have been compelled to do battle in three swing-offs of their second spherical matchup — one timed, and two three-swing swing-offs. Guerrero in the end received with a complete of 40 residence runs to Pederson’s 39. 

When is the 2021 House Run Derby?

  • Date: Monday, July 12
  • Time: 8 p.m. ET
  • Location: Coors Subject, Denver, Colorado
  • Channel: ESPN | ESPN2 (Statcast broadcast)
  • Reside stream: ESPN+ | fuboTV (7-day free trial)

The House Run Derby might be held on the primary day of the All-Star break, approaching Monday, July 12. Followers can tune into the printed on ESPN, or watch the Statcast broadcast on ESPN2. 

These hoping to dwell stream can discover each broadcasts both on ESPN+ or fuboTV, which affords a seven-day free trial. 

Previous House Run Derby champions

Here is who has received the House Run Derby up to now. Ken Griffey Jr. is the one hitter to win the derby in Colorado. He additionally holds the report for essentially the most House Run Derby wins total, sitting at three, together with 1998 and 1999 when he grew to become the primary participant to win the occasion in back-to-back years. 

12 months Participant Workforce Park (Metropolis)
2019 Pete Alonso Mets Progressive Subject (Cleveland)
2018 Bryce Harper Nationals Nationals Park (Washington, D.C.)
2017 Aaron Decide Yankees Marlins Park (Miami)
2016 Giancarlo Stanton Marlins Petco Park (San Diego)
2015 Todd Frazier Reds Nice American Ballpark (Cincinnati)
2014 Yoenis Cespedes Athletics Goal Subject (Minneapolis)
2013 Yoenis Cespedes Athletics Citi Subject (New York Metropolis)
2012 Prince Fielder Tigers Kauffman Park (Kansas Metropolis)
2011 Robinson Cano Yankees Chase Subject (Phoenix)
2010 David Ortiz Crimson Sox Angel Stadium (Anaheim)
2009 Prince Fielder Brewers Busch Stadium (St. Louis)
2008 Justin Morneau Twins Yankee Stadium (New York Metropolis)
2007 Vladimir Guerrero Angels AT&T Park (San Francisco)
2006 Ryan Howard Phillies PNC Park (Pittsburgh)
2005 Bobby Abreu Phillies Comerica Park (Detroit)
2004 Miguel Tejada Orioles Minute Maid Park (Houston)
2003 Garret Anderson Angels U.S. Mobile Subject (Chicago)
2002 Jason Giambi Yankees Miller Park (Milwaukee)
2001 Luis Gonzalez Diamondbacks Safeco Subject (Seattle)
2000 Sammy Sosa Cubs Turner Subject (Atlanta)
1999 Ken Griffey Jr. Mariners Fenway Park (Boston)
1998 Ken Griffey Jr. Mariners Coors Subject (Colorado)
1997 Tino Martinez Yankees Jacobs Subject (Cleveland)
1996 Barry Bonds Giants Veterans Stadium (Philadelphia)
1995 Frank Thomas White Sox The Ballpark in Arlington (Arlington)
1994 Ken Griffey Jr. Mariners Three Rivers Stadium (Pittsburgh)
1993 Juan Gonzalez Rangers Oriole Park at Camden Yards (Baltimore)
1992 Mark McGwire Athletics Jack Murphy Stadium (San Diego)
1991 Cal Ripken Jr. Orioles SkyDome (Toronto)
1990 Ryne Sandberg Cubs Wrigley Subject (Chicago)
1989* Ruben Sierra Rangers Anaheim Stadium (Anaheim)
1989* Eric Davis Reds Anaheim Stadium (Anaheim)
1987 Andre Dawson Cubs Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum (Oakland)
1986* Wally Joyner Angels Astrodome (Houston)
1986* Darryl Strawberry Mets Astrodome (Houston)
1985 Dave Parker Reds Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome (Minneapolis)

*Each 1986 and 1989 noticed ties within the House Run Derby


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *