Wales make seven changes for second tilt at Pumas


Wales head coach Wayne Pivac has made seven modifications to the facet that virtually managed to seize a 20 – 20 draw in opposition to a 14-man Argentina final weekend.

Tom Rogers returns to win his second cap, becoming a member of Hallam Amos and Owen Lane, whereas Saracens centre Nick Tompkins begins alongside captain Jonathan Davies in midfield.

Cardiff Rugby duo Tomos Williams and Jarrod Evans are promoted to the beginning crew after impressing from the bench.

Video Spacer

Gareth Thomas earns his first begin within the pack, with tighthead Leon Brown drafted in alongside Elliot Dee. Josh Turnbull replaces the injured Aaron Wainwright with Ross Moriarty shifting to No.8. The second row stays unchanged.

“We had been all annoyed after drawing final weekend and felt we left quite a lot of alternatives out on the pitch,” stated Pivac “Argentina introduced what we anticipated, they had been huge, bodily and direct and exerted stress with their kicking recreation. For a few of this group, it was the primary time they’ve confronted that stage of physicality and depth and this week we’ll should be way more correct and disciplined.

“It’s one other thrilling alternative to face a high quality outfit and we are able to nonetheless win the collection, which might be an effective way to complete our season.”

1 Gareth Thomas (Ospreys) (2 caps)
2 Elliot Dee (Dragons) (39 caps)
3 Leon Brown (Dragons) (19 caps)
4 Ben Carter (Dragons) (2 cap)
5 Will Rowlands (Dragons) (9 caps)
6 Josh Turnbull (Cardiff Rugby) (12 caps)
7 James Botham (Cardiff Rugby) (8 caps)
8 Ross Moriarty (Dragons) (47 caps)
9 Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby) (24 caps)
10 Jarrod Evans (Cardiff Rugby) (7 caps)
11 Tom Rogers (Scarlets) (2 caps)
12 Jonathan Davies (CAPT) (Scarlets) (90 caps)
13 Nick Tompkins (Saracens) (12 caps)
14 Owen Lane (Cardiff Rugby) (3 caps)
15 Hallam Amos (Cardiff Rugby) (24 caps)

16 Sam Parry (Ospreys) (4 caps)
17 Rhodri Jones (Ospreys) (20 cap)
18 Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby) (30caps)
19 Matthew Screech (Cardiff Rugby) (Uncapped)*
20 Taine Basham (Dragons) (2 cap)
21 Kieran Hardy (Scarlets) (6 caps)
22 Callum Sheedy (Bristol Bears) (11 caps)
23 Uilisi Halaholo (Cardiff Rugby) (6 caps)

Mailing Listing

Signal as much as our mailing listing for a weekly digest from the vast world of rugby.

Signal Up Now


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *