Championship League Draw, Preview, and Where to Watch – SnookerHQ


The primary motion of the brand new season will happen on the Morningside Area in Leicester.

The Championship League launches the 2021/22 marketing campaign on Sunday, with Judd Trump and Ronnie O’Sullivan among the many star gamers within the draw.

Matchroom’s Championship League has been performed beneath numerous guises lately, however on this event it would happen as a rating occasion that options the vast majority of Primary Tour gamers.

It has been greater than two months because the conclusion of the final time period, the longest hole in between snooker seasons for greater than a decade, so it is going to be attention-grabbing to see which gamers can get off to a fast begin.

Prize, Historical past, and Format

The Championship League has been on the calendar ultimately, form, or kind since 2008, nevertheless it’s solely within the final couple of years that it has been intermittently staged as a rating occasion.

England’s Kyren Wilson is the defending champion, and the Kettering cueist really received each editions from the makeshift 2020/21 marketing campaign.

Joe Perry triumphed within the inaugural Championship League that was held as an invitational 13 years in the past, and the Gentleman is on this yr’s draw alongside fellow former champions Trump, John Higgins, Stuart Bingham, and Martin Gould.

On this event, there are three phases to the elongated competitors with 128 gamers initially cut up into 32 round-robin teams comprising 4 gamers in every.

The 32 group winners advance to Stage Two, earlier than the subsequent eight group winners decide the rivals who characteristic in Stage Three, with all matches lasting simply 4 frames.

The 2 gamers who win their third and remaining teams will subsequently contest the outright remaining, with the winner set to earn £33,000 from the overall prize fund.

2021 Championship League Draw

In not probably the most thrilling of openings to a brand new marketing campaign, Stage One of many Championship League draw takes virtually three weeks to finish, and the general champion received’t be identified till August thirteenth – only a few days shy of a full month after the primary pots had been made.

Trump will get his bid for a record-extending fourth Championship League title beneath means towards Anthony Hamilton, Lee Walker, and Rod Lawler on the final day of Stage One on August sixth.

O’Sullivan is anticipated to be in motion on Tuesday towards Mark Joyce, Ian Burns, and beginner top-up Saqib Nasir – the latter a late alternative for Hong Kong’s Ng On Yee.

Girls’s world champion Reanne Evans returns to the Primary Tour as an expert for the primary time in ten years and can start her marketing campaign towards Tom Ford, Simon Lichtenberg, and Simon Blackwell.

Higgins, a winner of this event in 2017 and 2018, participates in Group 9 alongside Noppon Saengkham, Igor Figueiredo, and Soheil Vahedi, whereas reigning champion Wilson performs Sam Craigie, Ben Hancorn, and Dylan Emery.

Stage One Draw

Group 1 (Aug 6) Group 2 (Jul 21) Group 3 (Jul 22) Group 4 (Aug 2)
Judd Trump Jordan Brown Tom Ford Joe Perry
Anthony Hamilton Stuart Carrington Simon Lichtenberg Jimmy Robertson
Lee Walker Michael Decide Reanne Evans Sean Maddocks
Rod Lawler (a) Duane Jones Simon Blackwell (a) Jimmy White
Group 5 (Aug 6) Group 6 (Jul 20) Group 7 (Jul 18) Group 8 (Jul 18)
Mark Allen Michael Holt Ricky Walden Mark Williams
Chris Wakelin Andrew Higginson Nigel Bond Jak Jones
Mitchell Mann Fergal O’Brien Allan Taylor Peter Strains
Daniel Womersley (a) Mark Lloyd (a) Oliver Brown (a) Hammad Miah
Group 9 (Jul 27) Group 10 (Jul 22) Group 11 (Aug 5) Group 12 (Jul 23)
John Higgins David Grace Zhao Xintong Anthony McGill
Noppon Saengkham Farakh Ajaib Joe O’Connor Mark Davis
Igor Figueiredo Ben Fortey (a) Andy Hicks Yuan Sijun
Soheil Vahedi (a) Bai Langning (a) David Lilley (a) Billy Fort (a)
Group 13 (Jul 26) Group 14 (Jul 26) Group 15 (Aug 4) Group 16 (Jul 29)
Oliver Strains Martin Gould Matthew Stevens Kyren Wilson
Peter Devlin Ken Doherty Mark King Sam Craigie
Luke Pinches (a) Rory McLeod Andrew Pagett Ben Hancorn
Joshua Thomond (a) Ryan Davies (a) Ross Muir (a) Dylan Emery (a)
Group 17 (Aug 4) Group 18 (Jul 28) Group 19 (Jul 19) Group 20 (Jul 29)
Shaun Murphy Robert Milkins Ali Carter Graeme Dott
Jamie Jones Zhao Jianbo Dominic Dale Robbie Williams
Chen Zifan Gerard Greene Sydney Wilson (a) Iulian Boiko
Michael Collumb (a) Haydon Pinhey (a) Michael Georgiou (a) Si Jiahui (a)
Group 21 (Jul 30) Group 22 (Jul 30) Group 23 (Jul 19) Group 24 (Aug 2)
Stuart Bingham Ryan Day Scott Donaldson Stephen Maguire
Elliot Slessor Hossein Vafaei Alexander Ursenbacher Sunny Akani
Gao Yang Barry Pinches Aaron Hill Ashley Hugill
Michael White (a) Jackson Web page Leo Fernandez (a) John Astley (a)
Group 25 (Aug 3) Group 26 (Jul 27) Group 27 (Aug 3) Group 28 (Jul 21)
Yan Bingtao Gary Wilson Matthew Selt Barry Hawkins
Jamie Clarke Steven Hallworth Ashley Carty Zak Surety
Louis Heathcote Cap Yupeng Lukas Kleckers Ben Woollaston
Robbie McGuigan (a) James Cahill (a) Fraser Patrick Kuldesh Johal (a)
Group 29 (Jul 28) Group 30 (Aug 5) Group 31 (Jul 23) Group 32 (Jul 20)
Thepchaiya Un-Nooh David Gilbert Luca Brecel Ronnie O’Sullivan
Martin O’Donnell Liam Highfield Pang Junxu Mark Joyce
Craig Steadman Jamie Wilson Chang Bingyu Ian Burns
Zhang Jiankang Sanderson Lam (a) Dean Younger Saqib Nasir (a)

The place to Watch the Championship League

There might be two tables obtainable to look at on every day of the group phases, with the snooker on desk one obtainable throughout Eire and the UK on FreeSports, and desk two’s play on Matchroom.Dwell’s snooker streaming service.

There are numerous different TV broadcast choices world wide, which you’ll view by clicking right here.

Featured picture credit score: WST


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *