Jamie George to captain British & Irish Lions against Sharks on Saturday


Saracens is immensely proud to announce that Jamie George will captain the British and Irish Lions towards Cell C Sharks on Saturday at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria.

George is called captain of a beginning XV which has 13 adjustments to the staff that performed the identical opposition earlier this week, with solely Elliot Daly and Duhan van der Merwe retained. 

Elsewhere, fellow Saracen Maro Itoje begins while Owen Farrell and Mako Vunipola are rested after enjoying a key half on Wednesday.

The sport towards the Durban-based Sharks replaces the scheduled Tour match towards the Bulls and is the third in an eight-game Sequence culminating within the three Exams towards World Champions, the Springboks. 

That is the second time the Lions may have performed the Sharks within the Fort Lager Lions Sequence, having already overwhelmed them 7-54 on Wednesday evening at Emirates Airline Park.  

Earlier right now the Tour PCR screening programme returned a unfavourable set of outcomes. 

On Wednesday 7 July, one member of employees examined constructive for COVID-19. Consequently, the person and 4 shut contacts (one participant and three members of employees) are being remoted on the staff lodge.

“It’s clearly been a barely turbulent week, however we stay decided to maintain rolling with the punches,” stated Gatland. 

“In some ways, the challenges we’ve confronted this week have strengthened our resolve to do the whole lot we are able to to beat the challenges created by covid. 

“The sensation within the camp on Wednesday evening was simply to offer it a crack – I used to be actually proud by how everybody reacted, significantly the match day squad who would have by no means ready for a recreation like that earlier than.   

“Saturday is one other alternative to see how the boys go and for us as coaches to check out a couple of extra combos forward of the Check collection.

“I’ve lengthy been an admirer of Jamie’s management abilities, so I’m delighted to call him skipper.

“We wish to cross on because of the Sharks boys for fronting up and going once more on Saturday. That’s the spirit of rugby, and a terrific likelihood for them to have one other shot at us.” 


Saturday 10 July 2021 

Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria 

Kick-off: 5pm (BST) 

15 Liam Williams

14 Anthony Watson

13 Elliot Daly

12 Chris Harris 

11 Duhan van der Merwe

10 Dan Biggar 

9 Gareth Davies

1 Rory Sutherland 

2 Jamie George (C) 

3 Tadhg Furlong 

4 Maro Itoje 

5 Jonny Hill 

6 Tadhg Beirne 

7 Hamish Watson

8 Jack Conan


16 Ken Owens

17 Wyn Jones

18 Kyle Sinckler 

19 Courtney Lawes 

20 Sam Simmonds 

21 Tom Curry

22 Conor Murray

23 Finn Russell


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *