Kyle Busch dominates, wins sixtieth Truck race in Fr8Auctions 200 – The Checkered Flag

Kyle Busch missed out on his sixtieth NASCAR Tenting World Truck Sequence win two weeks in the past at Las Vegas, however he received it anyway on Saturday when he led 102 of 130 laps to win the Fr8Auctions 200 at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

Busch began the race in second alongside Las Vegas winner and worker John Hunter Nemechek. Brett Moffitt dropped to the rear after an engine change, whereas Josh Berry did in order a alternative driver for Kris Wright, who missed the race after testing constructive for COVID-19.

Matt Crafton took the lead on the opening lap and led three of them earlier than Busch turned the chief. Nemechek assumed the spot on lap 29 shortly earlier than the stage conclusion and led Busch to the green-checkered flag. Austin Hill, Stewart Friesen, Ross Chastain, Derek Kraus, Crafton, Zane Smith, Sheldon Creed, and Johnny Sauter closed out the highest ten. The lone warning of the section was for the competitors yellow on lap 17.

Nemechek and Busch would commerce the lead all through the second stage earlier than the previous as soon as once more gained forward of his boss. Friesen, Hill, Chastain, Creed, Smith, Moffitt, Crafton, and Kraus completed behind them.

Busch continued to steer as Stage #3 started. The Chevrolet of Chase Purdy lastly broke the Toyota domination when he led 4 laps starting on lap 102, however misplaced the spot to Busch on lap 106. Purdy’s GMS Racing team-mate Raphaël Lessard retired from the race on lap 115 with a transmission failure, being and was one among two DNFs alongside Norm Benning who was flagged for being too sluggish earlier within the section.

Going through little opposition, Busch drove off to the win. Toyotas occupied the highest 4 with Hill, Nemechek, and Sauter ending behind him. It’s Busch’s sixth Truck win at Atlanta, whereas his 102 laps led have been probably the most by a Truck winner on the monitor. The victory was additionally the primary for crew chief Mardy Lindley, who joined Kyle Busch Motorsports after working for GMS within the ARCA Menards Sequence East.

“I believed we had an ideal truck firstly of the race,” Busch mentioned. “We simply stored engaged on all of it day. We have been free to start out and we received it rather a lot higher there. That remaining stage, we simply took off and it was tremendous quick, tremendous good. […]

“Anytime I’m in my truck, I would like to have the ability to go on the market and rating the victory. With good competitors and good opponents, it’s not straightforward. With John Hunter approaching board, at Vegas he was tremendous quick and did all the things proper, no errors. We’ll return and regroup and guarantee that #4 truck can keep in entrance of that #16 truck (Hill) the remainder of this yr.”

The race was remarkably clear because the competitors warning and stage breaks have been the lone cautions.

Elsewhere within the discipline, Berry completed twenty-second in his first Truck race since 2016. Ending fifth was Creed because the highest-placing truck with sponsorship from Overton’s; owned by Tenting World CEO Marcus Lemonis and in a repeat of his mass sponsorship at Las Vegas, Overton’s appeared on ten vans: Creed, Smith (sixth), Moffitt (ninth), Carson Hocevar (twelfth), Parker Kligerman (fourteenth), Ryan Truex (fifteenth), Jordan Anderson (twenty-fifth), Codie Rohrbaugh (twenty-ninth), Dawson Cram (thirty-first), Ryan Ellis (thirty-forth), and Benning (fortieth). Ellis was working his first NASCAR nationwide collection race since 2019, whereas Reaume Brothers Racing team-mate Akinori Ogata completed thirty-seventh in his first Truck begin of the yr. Spencer Davis completed twentieth in his first begin of 2021, whereas Invoice Lester was thirty-sixth in his first NASCAR race since 2007.

Race outcomes

End Begin Quantity Driver Workforce Producer Laps Standing
1 2 51 Kyle Busch* Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota 130 Operating
2 6 16 Austin Hill Hattori Racing Enterprises Toyota 130 Operating
3 1 4 John Hunter Nemechek Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota 130 Operating
4 13 13 Johnny Sauter ThorSport Racing Toyota 130 Operating
5 8 2 Sheldon Creed GMS Racing Chevrolet 130 Operating
6 7 21 Zane Smith GMS Racing Chevrolet 130 Operating
7 40 44 Ross Chastain* Niece Motorsports Chevrolet 130 Operating
8 3 88 Matt Crafton ThorSport Racing Chevrolet 130 Operating
9 10 45 Brett Moffitt Niece Motorsports Chevrolet 130 Operating
10 4 52 Stewart Friesen Halmar Friesen Racing Toyota 130 Operating
11 19 98 Grant Enfinger ThorSport Racing Toyota 130 Operating
12 17 42 Carson Hocevar Niece Motorsports Chevrolet 130 Operating
13 29 19 Derek Kraus McAnally-Hilgemann Racing Toyota 129 Operating
14 15 75 Parker Kligerman Henderson Motorsports Chevrolet 129 Operating
15 32 40 Ryan Truex Niece Motorsports Chevrolet 129 Operating
16 5 99 Ben Rhodes ThorSport Racing Toyota 129 Operating
17 9 38 Todd Gilliland Entrance Row Motorsports Ford 129 Operating
18 30 26 Tyler Ankrum GMS Racing Chevrolet 129 Operating
19 14 15 Tanner Grey David Gilliland Racing Ford 129 Operating
20 39 11 Spencer Davis Spencer Davis Motorsports Toyota 129 Operating
21 28 1 Hailie Deegan David Gilliland Racing Ford 129 Operating
22 18 02 Josh Berry* Younger’s Motorsports Chevrolet 129 Operating
23 12 22 Austin Wayne Self AM Racing Chevrolet 128 Operating
24 26 23 Chase Purdy GMS Racing Chevrolet 128 Operating
25 24 3 Jordan Anderson* Jordan Anderson Racing Chevrolet 128 Operating
26 22 12 Tate Fogleman Younger’s Motorsports Chevrolet 128 Operating
27 34 04 Cory Roper Roper Racing Ford 127 Operating
28 21 30 Danny Bohn On Level Motorsports Toyota 127 Operating
29 20 9 Codie Rohrbaugh CR7 Motorsports Chevrolet 126 Operating
30 16 25 Timothy Peters Rackley WAR Chevrolet 126 Operating
31 27 41 Dawson Cram Cram Racing Enterprises Chevrolet 126 Operating
32 35 32 Bret Holmes Bret Holmes Racing Chevrolet 126 Operating
33 25 20 Spencer Boyd Younger’s Motorsports Chevrolet 125 Operating
34 36 34 Ryan Ellis* Reaume Brothers Racing Chevrolet 124 Operating
35 11 18 Chandler Smith Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota 124 Operating
36 31 17 Invoice Lester David Gilliland Racing Ford 123 Operating
37 38 33 Akinori Ogata Reaume Brothers Racing Toyota 123 Operating
38 33 10 Jennifer Jo Cobb Jennifer Jo Cobb Racing Chevrolet 117 Operating
39 23 24 Raphaël Lessard GMS Racing Chevrolet 115 Transmission
40 37 6 Norm Benning Norm Benning Racing Chevrolet 72 Too Sluggish
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the 12 months
* – Ineligible for Truck factors

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *