Magnificent In Miami: The Biggest Champions

Since its beginnings in South Florida in 1985, the Miami Open offered by Itau has been a showcase for the game’s best champions. The event’s honour roll reads like a who’s-who information to one of the best of males’s tennis, from Pete Sampras and Andre Agassi to Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic.

Forward of the thirty sixth version of the ATP Masters 1000 occasion, appears again on the best champions in Miami historical past.

Most Miami Open Singles Titles

Participant Titles Years Gained
 T1. Novak Djokovic   6  2007, 2011-12, 2014-16 
 T1. Andre Agassi  6  1990, 1995-96, 2001-03
 2. Roger Federer  4  2005-06, 2017, 2019
 3. Pete Sampras   3  1993-94, 2000
 T4. Andy Murray  2  2009, 2013
 T4. Andy Roddick   2  2004, 2010
 T4. Ivan Lendl  2  1986, 1989

Ivan LendlTitles (2): 1986, 1989
Two of Ivan Lendl’s haul of 94 ATP Tour titles got here at this occasion. The previous World No.1 was the second champion to be topped in South Florida, profitable the 1986 version held in Boca Raton earlier than the occasion moved to its long-term residence in Key Biscayne.

The Czech-American nice gained a tightly-contested ultimate in opposition to Mats Wilander to assert the 1986 title, profitable 3-6, 6-1, 7-6(5), 6-4. Lendl additionally superior to the 1989 ultimate with out shedding a set, however obtained a walkover within the championship match when his opponent Thomas Muster was injured by a drunk driver after the semi-finals.

Andy RoddickTitles (2): 2004, 2010
Former World No. 1 Roddick racked up 32 ATP Tour titles throughout his profession, together with two in Key Biscayne. The American claimed his first title in 2004 with a victory over Guillermo Coria, who retired within the ultimate. Six years later, Roddick gained in Miami once more to elevate his fifth and ultimate ATP Masters 1000 trophy, and his first since 2006. He fired 13 aces and didn’t face a break level within the ultimate to win 7-5, 6-4 in opposition to Tomas Berdych.

Andy Murray Titles (2): 2009, 2013
It’s no shock that Andy Murray has at all times appeared proper at residence on the courts of Crandon Park. The Brit owned a house in Miami, simply 10 minutes away from the stadium, for practically a decade. He bagged two of his 14 ATP Masters 1000 titles at his residence away from residence, and reached the ultimate on two extra events (2012, 2015).

In 2009, Murray established himself as a risk to the brand new ‘Huge Three’ with a 6-2, 7-5 victory in opposition to Novak Djokovic within the ultimate. The win earned him revenge too, after struggling a 6-1, 6-0 defeat to the Serbian in Miami two years prior. Two days earlier than this thirty first birthday, Murray took down David Ferrer 2-6, 6-4, 7-6(1) to win the 2013 title.

Pete Sampras Titles (3): 1993-94, 2000
In 1994, defending Miami champion Sampras was sprawled on the ground of the locker room moments earlier than the championship match, struggling as a result of a abdomen sickness. In an awesome gesture of sportsmanship, his opponent Andre Agassi agreed to delay the match by an hour to permit him time to recuperate. Sampras famously bounced again, discovering his type because the match went on to beat Agassi 5-7, 6-3, 6-3. 

‘Pistol Pete’ gained his third title on the ATP Masters 1000 occasion in one other memorable second. His late-career clash-of-styles in opposition to baseliner Gustavo Kuerten in 2000 is remembered as the most effective championship clashes ever performed on the event. The American wanted a fourth-set tie-break to defeat Kuerten immediately basic, 6-1, 6-7(2), 7-6(5), 7-6(8).

Roger Federer Titles (4): 2005-06, 2017, 2019
The Swiss nice triumphed in opposition to Rafael Nadal in what’s extensively thought of to be one of many best ATP Tour finals of all time to assert his first Miami title in 2005. Federer got here again from two units all the way down to win an epic five-setter 2-6, 6-7(4), 7-6(5), 6-3, 6-1 in opposition to the rising Spaniard.

He would go on to win in Miami three extra occasions, and have become the event’s oldest champion along with his victory in 2019. That yr, he was additionally the primary participant to triumph on the Miami Open offered by Itau’s new residence in Miami Gardens, the Laborious Rock Stadium.

Roger Federer

Andre AgassiTitles (6): 1990, 1995-96, 2001-03
For many years, Andre Agassi reigned because the undisputed king in Key Biscayne. A product of the Nick Bollettieri Tennis Academy in Florida, the Las Vegas-born legend was proper at residence in Miami the place he gained six trophies and reached the ultimate one other two occasions. On the peak of his rivalry with Pete Sampras, he got here away victorious in one of many event’s basic finals, profitable the 1995 version with a 3-6, 6-2, 7-6(3) victory.

The previous World No. 1 amassed the longest win streak in event historical past: He gained 19 consecutive matches from 2001-04, a interval throughout which he lifted the trophy 3 times. It’s a file that stands to at the present time.

Novak Djokovic Titles (6): 2007, 2011-12, 2014-16
He grew to become the youngest champion in Miami historical past at 19 years previous in 2007, and he’s by no means appeared again. The Serbian holds the joint file for many titles in males’s singles (additionally Agassi) and is barely the second participant to win the event 3 times in a row (from 2014-16, additionally Agassi 2001-03).

In truth, just one venue has been extra profitable for Djokovic than Crandon Park, having lifted 9 Australian Open trophies at Melbourne Park. He has dominated in Miami greater than at some other ATP Masters 1000 occasion, together with Indian Wells, Rome and Paris (5), in addition to the Nitto ATP Tour Finals (5).

Novak Djokovic

Bob Bryan/Mike BryanTitles (6): 2007-08, 2014-15, 2018-19
Essentially the most embellished doubles groups in tennis historical past, Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan are additionally the winningest workforce in Miami with six titles to their title. The dual brothers gained back-to-back Miami trophies on three events, and appeared in one other six finals. By the point they retired in 2020, the Individuals had racked up an Open Period file 119 trophies in 26-season careers, together with all 4 Grand Slams, all 9 ATP Masters 1000s, Nitto ATP Finals (4 titles) and an Olympic gold medal.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *