Nigel Owens insists Liam Williams ought to by no means have been sin binned

Welsh referee Nigel Owens has insisted Liam Williams ‘did nothing incorrect in anyway’ within the incident that led to him being sin binned throughout Wales’ heartbreaking 32-30 defeat to France.

On the Stade de France on Saturday evening, Williams was the second Welshman despatched to the sin bin after Taulupe Faletau, leaving Wales to defend their line with 13 males towards the 14-man French.

Within the 72nd minute, Williams was despatched to the naughty step after referee Luke Pearce accused him of ‘going off toes’ as he dived to deal with France scrum-half Antoine Dupont in the back of a ruck.

With two males within the bin, Wales could not maintain out and France claimed a last-minute attempt to win the match.

For the reason that incident, Williams has acquired appalling abuse on social media, which has been publicly condemned by the Welsh Rugby Union.

Giving his view on the incident, 2015 World Cup ultimate ref Owens advised Scrum V: “This one could be very harsh.

“It’s very unacceptable when individuals need to put up with abuse on-line. There isn’t any place for it.

“Now we have the most effective supporters on the earth however typically there are a number of clowns on the market who let individuals down.

“What’s much more unacceptable right here is the truth that Liam Williams did nothing incorrect in anyway.

“It is good play by Liam Williams right here. He will get again to his toes, legally, then [Antoine] Dupont has lifted the ball off the ground.

“This implies now, even when it was a deal with or a ruck, that section is now over. It’s now open play.

“Liam Williams is sort of entitled to do the deal with approach that he does. That ought to have been play on.

“The one factor you might argue is did it contact Liam Williams’ hand within the course of of creating a deal with?

“It could have accomplished and, if that’s the case, it will have been a knock on solely and a scrum. Nevertheless it’s definitely not a penalty.”

Owens was then challenged on his view of the incident by a fan on social media, who claimed Williams intentionally knocked the ball out of Dupont’s arms, which is a penalty offence.

Nevertheless, Owens, declaring that Williams was penalised for going off his toes, explaining: “He [Williams] tackles him[Dupont] across the ankle.

“And watch it once more, Dupont has misplaced management of the ball earlier than it touches Liam Williams’ hand.

“The ref didn’t see it as that [knocking the ball out of Dupont’s hands] as he penalised for off toes. However Liam Williams is sort of entitled to deal with in that method.

“If he was chasing Dupont up subject and tackled like that he would by no means be penalised.”



Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *