Site icon FoxsportsTv

2021 NCAA Males’s Championships: Day 2 Prelims Reside Recap



  • When: Wednesday, March 24 – Saturday, March 27, 2021
  • The place: Greensboro Aquatic Middle / Greensboro, NC (Japanese Time Zone)
  • Prelims 10 AM/ Finals 6 PM (Native Time)
  • Quick course yards (SCY) format
  • Defending champion: Cal (1x) – 2019 outcomes
  • Streaming:
  • Championship Central
  • Psych Sheets
  • Reside Outcomes

Texas received the 800 free relay final night time, with Cal second and the remainder of the sector over two seconds behind the Bears.

This morning, the staff race will begin to take form, with prelims of the five hundred free, 200 IM and 50 free set to run. Kieran Smith of Florida will meet challengers like Jake Magahey of Georgia and Drew Kibler of Texas within the 500 free, whereas the sector will attempt to get as near Texas A&M’s Shaine Casas as attainable within the 200 IM and attempt to choose off a spot within the A-final.

The 50 free is without doubt one of the best occasions this week, with seven males already below 19 seconds this yr, together with freshman chief Adam Chaney of Florida. Control the opposite first-year skills, like Cal’s Bjorn Seeliger, Virginia’s Matt Brownstead and Alabama’s Matt King on this race, as they’ve all been 18-high this season. The upstart rookies will attempt to take down Cal senior Ryan Hoffer, a seasoned competitor and defending 50 free champion.



  • NCAA Report: 4:06.32, Kieran Smith (Florida) – 2020
  • American Report: 4:06.32, Kieran Smith (Florida) – 2020
  • U.S. Open Report: 4:06.32, Kieran Smith (Florida) – 2020
  • Meet Report: 4:08.19, Townley Haas (Texas) – 2019
  • 2019 Champion: Townley Haas (Texas), 4:08.19
  • 2020 Prime Performer: Kieran Smith (Florida), 4:06.32

Prime 8

  1. Jake Magahey (Georgia) – 4:09.36
  2. Brooks Fail (Arizona) – 4:09.41
  3. Kieran Smith (Florida) – 4:11.03
  4. Sean Grieshop (Cal) – 4:11.12
  5. Drew Kibler (Texas) – 4:11.52
  6. Trenton Julian (Cal) – 4:11.60
  7. Ross Dant (NC State) – 4:12.34
  8. Bobby Finke (Florida) – 4:12.37

Within the ultimate warmth, Kieran Smith of Florida and Trenton Julian separated from the sector, and so they went 1-2 right here. Smith placed on the jets within the ultimate 50, going 4:11.03 with Julian second at 4:11.60, each moving into the A-final.

Arizona’s Brooks Fail and Texas’s Alex Zettle led via the midway level of warmth 5, however Georgia’s Jake Magahey pulled up as Zettle pale. Magahey handed Fail down the ultimate stretch, each breaking 4:10 at 4:09.36 to 4:09.41. That’s a finest time for Fail, and his first time below 4:10.

Drew Kibler of Texas was out laborious (however regarded easy), going 1:36.5 over the primary 200 with NC State’s Ross Dant in tow. Kibler fell off of a really quick tempo, ending at 4:11.52 forward of Dant (4:12.34) and Stanford senior Grant Shoults (4:12.85).

In warmth 5, Cal’s Sean Grieshop received issues shifting, posting a 4:11.12 to return simply .01 off of what he went in 2019 prelims at this meet. Texas’s JT Larson (4:13.40) and Peter Larson (4:14.58) went 2-3 in that warmth.

Navy senior Luke Johnson received warmth two in 4:19.48, the primary sub-4:20 of the morning. In warmth one, swimming solo attributable to no-shows, Michigan’s Danny Berlitz went 4:20.05.

Cal will get two up into the A-final right here and one into the B, whereas Texas does the inverse of that, with one into the A and two into the B. Florida truly did the perfect right here with 2 up and a couple of down.


  • NCAA Report: 1:38.13, Caeleb Dressel (Florida) – 2018
  • American Report: 1:38.13, Caeleb Dressel (Florida) – 2018
  • U.S. Open Report: 1:38.13, Caeleb Dressel (Florida) – 2018
  • Meet Report: 1:38.14, Andrew Seliskar (Cal) – 2019
  • 2019 Champion: Andrew Seliskar (Cal), 1:38.14
  • 2020 Prime Performer: Shaine Casas (Texas A&M), 1:39.91

Prime 8

  1. Destin Lasco (Cal) – 1:40.61
  2. Shaine Casas (Texas A&M) – 1:40.74
  3. Hugo Gonzalez (Cal) – 1:40.94
  4. Carson Foster (Texas)/Caio Pumputis (Georgia Tech) – 1:41.34 *TIE*
  5. Javier Acevedo (Georgia) – 1:41.72
  6. Danny Kovac (Mizzou)/David Schlicht (Arizona) – 1:42.21 *TIE*

Texas A&M’s Shaine Casas took the ultimate warmth in 1:40.74, capable of hld off Texas freshman Carson Foster (1:41.34) and Caio Pumputis of Georgia Tech (1:41.34) as they tied for second.

In warmth seven, Cal’s Hugo Gonzalez broke 1:41 with a 1:40.94 to take the #2 spot on the time.

Javier Acevedo of Georgia put down a 1:41.72 to say warmth six forward of Mizzou’s Danny Kovac (1:42.21). In a while, Arizona’s David Schlicht would tie with Kovac, and so they’d get into the A-final tied at seventh.

Purdue’s Nick Sherman went 1:43.43 to say warmth 5.

Caspar Corbeau clocked a 1:42.73 to win warmth 4 for Texas, nearly two seconds sooner than his previous finest. He and Reece Whitley of Cal went 1-2 there, Whitley at 1:43.07 as they each break up 28s on the breast leg.

Out of warmth two, Cal freshman Destin Lasco obliterated his previous finest by 5 seconds, hitting a 1:40.61. He strikes into the highest 20 all-time, simply .03 behind Michael Phelps on this occasion.

Cal once more leads with two A-finalists right here, and so they additionally received three into the B. Texas had one A-finalist and three B-finalists.


  • NCAA Report: 17.63, Caeleb Dressel (Florida) – 2018
  • American Report: 17.63, Caeleb Dressel (Florida) – 2018
  • U.S. Open Report: 17.63, Caeleb Dressel (Florida) – 2018
  • Meet Report: 17.63, Caeleb Dressel (Florida) – 2018
  • 2019 Champion: Ryan Hoffer (Cal), 18.63
  • 2020 Prime Performer: Ryan Hoffer (Cal), 18.87

Prime 8

  1. Ryan Hoffer (Cal) – 18.43
  2. Dillon Downing (Georgia) – 18.88
  3. Bjorn Seeliger (Cal) – 18.91
  4. Adam Chaney (Florida) – 18.98
  5. Youssef Ramadan (Virginia Tech) – 19.08
  6. Gus Borges (Michigan) – 19.12
  7. Daniel Krueger (Texas) – 19.13
  8. Blaise Vera (Pitt) – 19.17

Cal’s Ryan Hoffer had the swim of his life in warmth six, jetting to the lead early and dropping the hammer with an 18.43. Hoffer breaks the pool file, and he turns into the quickest man ever not named Caeleb Dressel, his time adequate to make him the #2 performer in historical past.

Hoffer strikes forward of Cesar Cielo’s beforehand #2 time of 18.47.

Freshmen Bjorn Seeliger (Cal), Adam Chaney (Florida) and Youssef Ramadan (Virginia Tech) made it into the A-final right here, all behind Georgia sophomore Dillon Downing‘s UGA file of 18.88. Ramadan additionally set a VT faculty file.

One freshman who was anticipated to contend within the A-final, Alabama’s Matt King, was DQ’d for a false begin.

Michigan’s Gus Borges was solely a B-finalist in 2019, and he will get into the A-final tonight together with his 19.12, whereas Pitt’s Blaise Vera was 19.17 to squeak into the A-final after ending twenty fifth in 2019.

Utah’s Cooper DeRyk posted a 19.37 for the warmth three win, the primary 19-low of the morning. He makes it into the B-final right here.

Cal once more had two A-finalists right here, whereas Florida and Michigan every received 1/1.


Exit mobile version