Verstappen tops first F1 observe session of 2021

By Steven De Groote on

Max Verstappen was the quickest man in right now’s first free observe session at Bahrain Worldwide Circuit. The session was largely spent to check tyres and validate aerodynamics, however in the long run, Verstappen emerged on prime.

Components One’s 2021 season formally kicked off with the 60-minute first observe session at Bahrain. Having had simply three days of testing two weeks in the past, all groups gave the impression to be dealing with this session as an extension of the pre-season assessments.

Alpine as an illustration has a gradual begin of the session, with each drivers tangling because the again of the timing board midway into the session. Mercedes alternatively have been on higher tempo, with Hamilton briefly going quickest across the midway mark. It appeared although as if Hamilton as testing completely different rake angles on his Mercedes with out actually being on the ragged edge.

Quickly after the 30 minute mark, Lando Norris jumped atop the timing sheet, three tenths quicker than Hamilton’s lap. Leclerc and Gasly snuck in between the 2 a couple of minutes later.

9 minutes from the top, Perez put Purple Bull considerably within the highlight by transferring up into third, quickly improved by Hamilton. Bottas topped all of them moments later and went quickest in 1:31.692.

4 minutes later, Verstappen set purple sectors in S1 and S2, adopted by a private greatest within the closing sector to go on prime of the timing sheet, three tenths up on Bottas. The Dutchman’s Purple Bull appeared firmly planted on that fast lap, giving Verstappen no bother to go quick.

No different driver appeared to return near that point within the closing minutes, leaving Purple Bull to prime the primary session of the season, according to their displayed performances in pre-season testing.


Pos. No. Driver Automobile Time Hole Laps
1 33 Max Verstappen Purple Bull Racing Honda 1:31.394 12
2 77 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes AMG 1:31.692 +0.298s 17
3 4 Lando Norris McLaren Mercedes 1:31.897 +0.503s 20
4 44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes AMG 1:31.921 +0.527s 15
5 16 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1:31.993 +0.599s 14
6 11 Sergio Perez Purple Bull Racing Honda 1:32.071 +0.677s 15
7 10 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri Honda 1:32.195 +0.801s 23
8 55 Carlos Sainz Ferrari 1:32.366 +0.972s 15
9 3 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren Mercedes 1:32.434 +1.040s 20
10 99 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo Racing Ferrari 1:32.786 +1.392s 16
11 7 Kimi Räikkönen Alfa Romeo Racing Ferrari 1:33.134 +1.740s 18
12 5 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin Mercedes 1:33.157 +1.763s 21
13 18 Lance Stroll Aston Martin Mercedes 1:33.233 +1.839s 20
14 22 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri Honda 1:33.329 +1.935s 21
15 31 Esteban Ocon Alpine Renault 1:33.528 +2.134s 20
16 14 Fernando Alonso Alpine Renault 1:33.872 +2.478s 18
17 63 George Russell Williams Mercedes 1:34.127 +2.733s 22
18 6 Nicholas Latifi Williams Mercedes 1:34.340 +2.946s 22
19 47 Mick Schumacher Haas Ferrari 1:34.501 +3.107s 16
20 9 Nikita Mazepin Haas Ferrari 1:34.975 +3.581s 16

GP Bahrainearlier

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *