Site icon FoxsportsTv

Faculty soccer coaches with essentially the most nationwide championships


Alabama’s Nick Saban made historical past within the 2020 Faculty Soccer Playoff. With the Tide’s commanding 52-24 win over Ohio State within the 2020 Nationwide Championship Sport, Saban surpassed Bear Bryant for essentially the most teaching titles in faculty soccer historical past.

Under are all of the coaches with not less than three nationwide titles.

Faculty soccer coaches with essentially the most nationwide championships

 Nick Saban, 7

Six of Saban’s titles are from his Alabama tenure (2009, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2017 and 2020). His first was in 2003, when he was at LSU and break up with Southern California — the Trojans gained the AP crown whereas the Tigers gained the BCS title.

Bear Bryant, 6

The Alabama legend gained all six of his nationwide titles with the Tide: 1961, 1964, 1965, 1973, 1978 and 1979. As a testomony to his longevity, Bryant’s ultimate title, in 1979, got here in his twenty second season with the Tide.

Bernie Bierman, 5

Bierman was Minnesota’s coach in 1932-41 and once more from 1945-50. He led the Golden Gophers to 4 unbeaten and untied seasons. He additionally gained seven Large Ten titles.

MORE: Faculty soccer packages with essentially the most nationwide championships

Woody Hayes, 5

Hayes coached at Ohio State from 1951-78, profitable his titles in 1954, 1957, 1961, 1968 and 1970. Hayes went 205-61-10 with the Buckeyes, gained 13 Large Ten titles and famously battled with Bo Schembechler’s Michigan in The Ten 12 months Battle.

Frank Leahy, 4

Leahy went 107-13-9 with the Irish, good for the second-best win share in historical past (.864, behind solely fellow Notre Dame coach Knute Rockne). Leahy performed for Rockne from 1928-30, profitable two titles, after which gained titles as a coach in 1943, 1946, 1947 and 1949.

MORE: Full nationwide championship historical past

John McKay, 4

In 16 seasons as Southern California’s coach, McKay gained 4 titles: 1962, 1967, 1972 and 1974. After a disappointing 1975 season, McKay left to teach the Tampa Bay Buccaneers within the NFL.

Howard Jones, 3

Jones gained his first nationwide title with Yale in 1909 earlier than profitable his subsequent three with Southern California (1928, 1931, 1932). The Trojans additionally went 8-0-2 in 1939 to assert a title, although AP topped Texas A&M.

Walter Camp, 3

Camp performed and coached at Yale, main the Bulldogs to nationwide championships as their coach in 1888, 1891 and 1892. His document at Yale? 67-2.

City Meyer, 3

After a two-year stint at Bowling Inexperienced, Meyer went undefeated at Utah in his season season with the Utes in 2003. He gained his first title at Florida in 2006, upsetting Ohio State. He then gained one other title two years later, beating Oklahoma within the BCS Nationwide Championship Sport. Meyer’s third title got here within the 2014 season, when Ohio State grew to become the primary Faculty Soccer Playoff nationwide champion.

Tom Osborne, 3

For a lot of his Nebraska head teaching profession, Osborne was identified for failing to win the massive one, because the Huskers fell in need of a title from 1973 by means of the 1993 seasons. Then the dam broke. Nebraska gained in 1994, 1995 and 1997 (splitting the final with Michigan), with Osborne then retiring. He went 49-2 in his ultimate 5 seasons.

Knute Rockne, 3

Rockne went a shocking 105-12-5 with the Irish, profitable titles in 1924, 1929 and 1930. His final title season was his final; Rockne died in a airplane crash in 1931.

Darrell Royal, 3

The Texas coach gained all of it in 1963, 1969 and 1970, going undefeated in two of these seasons. In 1969, that model of the “Sport of the Century” pitted No. 1 Texas in opposition to No. 2 Arkansas in Fayetteville, Arkansas, on Dec. 6. U.S. President Richard Nixon attended the sport.

Barry Switzer, 3

Switzer and the Oklahoma Sooners gained nationwide crowns in 1974, 1975 and 1985 and gained six Orange Bowl video games as OU’s coach from 1973 by means of 1988. Switzer then gained a Tremendous Bowl with the Dallas Cowboys within the 1995 season.

MORE: AP Prime 25 rankings

Glenn “Pop” Warner, 3

Warner gained two titles at Pittsburgh (1916 and 1918) after which at Stanford (1926) and revolutionized the game with the single-wing formation. He was a part of the inaugural Faculty Soccer Corridor of Fame class in 1951.

Bud Wilkinson, 3

Wilkinson’s Sooners famously gained 47 video games in a row between 1953 and 1957, nonetheless the longest profitable streak on the highest stage within the sport. Wilkinson gained his championships in 1950, 1955 and 1956.

MORE: Longest profitable streaks in faculty soccer historical past


Exit mobile version