Tremendous Rugby AU Spherical 8 groups: Liam comes Wright onto the Queensland bench to face Brumbies


The Queensland Reds have been handed an enormous enhance forward of their top-of-the-table conflict in opposition to the Brumbies with skipper Liam Wright to make his return from harm this weekend.

Wright had been sidelined since choosing up a syndesmosis harm in the course of the Reds’ pre-season warm-up in opposition to the Waratahs, and his return will additional bolster the undefeated ladder-leaders with the finals quick approaching.

The flanker has been named on the bench in the one change to the facet which demolished Melbourne final week, with Angus Scott-Younger, Fraser McReight and Harry Wilson remaining because the beginning entrance row for now and James O’Connor retaining the captaincy. Angus Blyth drops out of the facet to accommodate Wright’s return, with Seru Uru shifting into the 19 jersey as lock cowl.

The Reds’ opponents have additionally been bolstered on the choice desk with the return of their very own captain. Allan Alaalatoa is again within the beginning entrance row after serving a three-game suspension, and fellow prop Scott Sio has been added to the bench after a while on the sideline with harm.

Darcy Swain is the Brumbies’ solely different inclusion, with Will Miller, who rejoined the squad as an harm substitute participant yesterday after retiring final 12 months, not included within the facet to face Queensland.

Within the early recreation of the spherical, the Western Power have made a raft of adjustments for his or her journey to face the Rebels. Kieran Longbottom, Jeremy Thrush, Kyle Godwin, Domingo Miotti, Grason Makara, Richard Kahui and Andrew Prepared are all again within the facet, though coach Tim Sampson must trim two names from the squad after naming an prolonged bench.

Miotti has been given his first crack on the quantity ten jersey, with fellow flyhalves Jake McIntyre and Jono Lance out of the squad.

Melbourne welcome Lucio Sordoni and Brad Wilkin again into their workforce among the many reserves, however the wide range information for the Rebels comes within the type of a backline reshuffle. Reece Hodge has been moved to fullback so to accommodate former sevens star Lewis Holland within the centres.

Tremendous Rugby AU Spherical 8 groups

Melbourne Rebels vs Western Power

Friday, 7:45pm (AEST), AAMI Park
(1-15): Cabous Eloff, James Hanson, Pone Faamausili, Rob Leota, Trevor Hosea, Josh Kemeny, Richard Hardwick, Michael Wells, Joe Powell, Matt To’omua (c), Marika Koroibete, Lewis Holland, Stacey Ili, Frank Lomani, Reece Hodge

Reserves: Jordan Uelese, Matt Gibbon, Lucio Sordoni, Steve Cummins, Brad Wilkin, James Tuttle, Tom Pincus, Jeral Skelton

In: Lucio Sordoni, Brad Wilkin

Out: Albert Anae, Thomas Nowlan

(1-15): Tom Robertson, Feleti Kaitu’u, Santiago Medrano, Jeremy Thrush, Sitaleki Timani, Fergus Lee-Warner, Kane Koteka, Tomas Lezana, Tomas Cubelli, Domingo Miotti, Jordan Olowofela, Kyle Godwin (c), Tevita Kuridrani, Byron Ralston, Jack McGregor.

Reserves: Andrew Prepared, Jack Winchester, Angus Wagner, Kieran Longbottom, Ryan McCauley, Tim Anstee, Brynard Stander, Ian Prior, Grason Makara, Richard Kahui (two to omit)

In: Kieran Longbottom, Jeremy Thrush, Kyle Godwin, Domingo Miotti, Grason Makara, Richard Kahui, Andrew Prepared

Out: Greg Holmes, Jake McIntyre, Marcel Brache, Henry Taefu, Jono Lance

Queensland Reds vs ACT Brumbies

Saturday, 7:45pm (AEST), Suncorp Stadium
(1-15): Feao Fotuaika, Brandon Paenga-Amosa, Taniela Tupou, Ryan Smith, Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, Angus Scott-Younger, Fraser McReight, Harry Wilson, Tate McDermott, James O’Connor (c), Jock Campbell, Hamish Stewart, Hunter Paisami, Jordan Petaia, Bryce Hegarty

Reserves: Alex Mafi, Richie Asiata, Zane Nonggorr, Seru Uru, Liam Wright, Kalani Thomas, Josh Flook, Filipo Daugunu

In: Liam Wright

Out: Angus Blyth

(1-15): James Slipper, Folau Fainga’a, Allan Alaalatoa (c), Darcy Swain, Cadeyrn Neville, Rob Valetini, Tom Cusack, Pete Samu, Nic White, Noah Lolesio, Tom Wright, Irae Simone, Len Ikitau, Andy Muirhead, Tom Banks

Reserves: Lachlan Lonergan, Scott Sio, Sefo Kautai, Nick Frost, James Tucker, Ryan Lonergan, Bayley Kuenzle, Mack Hansen

INs: Allan Alaalatoa, Darcy Swain, Scott Sio

OUTs: Harry Lloyd, Fred Kaihea, Rory Scott


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *