Choose the best group in Vodacom Tremendous Rugby historical past!


Which group is the best within the historical past of Tremendous Rugby? Your vote decides who goes by and who’s eradicated from the race for the distinguished title of SA Rugby journal readers’ all-time Tremendous Rugby group.

The groups are in your fingers!

Was it Fourie du Preez and Victor Matfield’s 2009 Bulls, the all-star Stormers facet that contested the 2010 ultimate, the Sharks outfit that powered into the 2007 decider or one of many Lions groups that tripped on the final hurdle?

Or how about Joeli Vidiri’s Auckland Blues of the mid-90s, Todd Blackadder’s 1999 Crusaders or the masterful 2001 Brumbies steered by halfbacks George Gregan and Stephen Larkham?

The envy of northern-hemisphere rugby for the higher a part of 20 years after the sport turned skilled, Tremendous Rugby produced many of the expertise that went on to win a Rugby World Cup between 1996 and 2019.

SA Rugby journal readers have the chance to take part in a singular 32-team knockout match to unveil Tremendous Rugby’s biggest group ever.

The 24 championship groups from 1996 to 2019 are joined by eight different worthy contenders with two groups matched up each Wednesday in a weekly duel for the precise to advance to the following spherical.

We’re in Durbs for Recreation 1 as Kings Park hosts a blockbuster conflict between the 1996 Sharks and the 2001 Brumbies.

Sharks coach Ian McIntosh has picked a group bolstered with 1995 World Cup-winners Andre Joubert, James Small and Mark Andrews, and rising stalwarts of the Springbok group that went on to contest the 1999 RWC in flyhalf Henry Honiball, No 8 Gary Teichmann and loosehead prop Ollie le Roux.

Opposing them is the backbone of the Wallabies group that finally misplaced out to a Jonny Wilkinson drop purpose in ultimate of the 2003 Rugby World Cup in Australia.

George Gregan and Stephen Larkham take their locations in a legendary halfback mixture, founding fetcher George Smith prowls at openside flank and the again three boasts the incisive duo of wing Joe Roff and fullback Andrew Walker.

The 1996 Sharks solely received six of 11 matches throughout the league section, trampled 30-8 by Northern Transvaal at Loftus earlier than smashing the Crusaders 58-26 in Durban.

They completed in fourth place on the desk, one level away from the Brumbies who had crushed the Sharks 44-31 in Canberra. However McIntosh’s group brought on an upset once they recovered from ending the league section with a 30-23 loss towards the visiting Blues to ambush the table-topping Reds in Brisbane every week later.

Nonetheless, they ran out of surprises within the ultimate the place the Auckland Blues powered to a 45-21 victory at Eden Park.

The Sharks didn’t journey so nicely in 2001, pumped 36-6 by Eddie Jones’ Brumbies in that season’s finale.

Walker, who was joint-top try-scorer with eight touchdowns, kicked 5 penalties and transformed each of Roff’s tries to cap a marketing campaign that began with the Brumbies demolishing the Crusaders 51-16 en path to an 8-3 file.

Satirically, a kind of three losses got here by the hands of the Sharks, a 17-16 reverse at Kings Park.

There are juicy matchups throughout the park. Honiball and Joubert will duel Gregan, Larkham and Walker for management of the sky whereas Small exams his tempo towards Roff, Fyvie has his fingers full neutralising Smith on the sort out level and Mark Andrews is locked in a jumpball contest towards David Giffin and Justin Harrison.

Although the 1996 Sharks boast utility Argentina entrance rower Federico Mendez among the many replacements, the 2001 Brumbies have the benefit of a seven-man bench.

1996 Sharks – 15 Andre Joubert, 14 James Small, 13 Jeremy Thomson, 12 Dick Muir, 11 Cabous van der Westhuizen, 10 Henry Honiball, 9 Kevin Putt, 8 Gary Teichmann (c), 7 Wikus van Heerden, 6 Wayne Fyvie, 5 Mark Andrews, 4 Steve Atherton, 3 Adrian Garvey, 2 John Allan, 1 Ollie le Roux.
Subs: 16 Joos Joubert, 17 Roland de Marigny, 18 Robert du Preez, 19 Dieter Kriese, 20 John Slade, 21 Federico Mendez.
Coach: Ian McIntosh.

2001 Brumbies – 15 Andrew Walker, 14 Graeme Bond, 13 James Holbeck, 12 Rod Kafer, 11 Joe Roff, 10 Stephen Larkham, 9 George Gregan, 8 Jim Williams, 7 George Smith, 6 Peter Ryan, 5 David Giffin, 4 Justin Harrison, 3 Ben Darwin, 2 Jeremy Paul, 1 Invoice Younger.
Subs: 16 Tom Murphy, 17 Matt Weaver, 18 David Pusey, 19 Radike Samo, 20 Travis Corridor, 21 Craig McMullen, 22 Mark Bartholomeusz.
Coach: Eddie Jones.

ALSO READ: What’s in our newest situation?

Subscribe right here





Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *