Joey Logano, Harrison Burton on poles for Martinsville – The Checkered Flag


The NASCAR Cup Sequence returns from the Easter bye with the Blue-Emu Most Ache Reduction 500 at Martinsville Speedway on Saturday, whereas the Xfinity Sequence comes again after a two-week break for the Prepare dinner Out 250 the day gone by. Joey Logano, who received the newest Cup race, will lead the sphere to inexperienced in his sequence’ race whereas Harrison Burton does so for the Xfinity occasion.

Cup: Logano on Martinsville pole for sixth time

Logano received the final Cup race at Bristol previous to taking the week off for Easter, and he’ll look to turn into the primary repeat winner as he begins on the pole. Martinsville is a monitor that possible holds a lot weight for his profession as his lone Cup win on the brief monitor within the 2018 fall race punched his ticket to the Championship Spherical, the place he went on to win his maiden title. Whereas he solely has one win at Martinsville, he has began on the pole there on six totally different events, together with three straight races and a sweep of the 2015 prime spots. In 2020’s two races, he completed fourth and third, the previous seeing him lead a race-high 234 of 500 laps.

Beginning alongside him will probably be six-time Martinsville winner Denny Hamlin. Hamlin received the 2019 fall race pole and has six front-row beginning spots on the Virginia circuit. He swept the 2010 races and his most up-to-date win there got here within the 2015 spring occasion.

Three driver modifications from Bristol befell, all of that are groups switching out dust monitor ringers for his or her common part-time drivers. Justin Haley returns to the Spire Motorsports #77 that Stewart Friesen drove at Bristol, whereas B.J. McLeod returns to his #78 Dwell Quick Motorsports automotive (pushed by Shane Golobic at Bristol) and James Davison heads again to Rick Ware Racing‘s #15 (Chris Windom ran Bristol). The #66 of MBM Motorsports, which Timmy Hill primarily drives and Mike Marlar piloted at Bristol, and the #96 of Gaunt Brothers Racing that Ty Dillon races usually are not entered after racing two weeks in the past; whereas GBR is already a part-time group, MBM has confronted sponsorship troubles after being excluded from the eNASCAR iRacing Professional Invitational Sequence getting into Bristol.

Begin Quantity Driver Group Producer
1 22 Joey Logano Group Penske Ford
2 11 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
3 24 William Byron Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
4 12 Ryan Blaney Group Penske Ford
5 9 Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
6 47 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet
7 19 Martin Truex Jr. Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
8 6 Ryan Newman Roush Fenway Racing Ford
9 4 Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
10 2 Brad Keselowski Group Penske Ford
11 99 Daniel Suárez Trackhouse Racing Group Chevrolet
12 18 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
13 8 Tyler Reddick Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet
14 34 Michael McDowell Entrance Row Motorsports Ford
15 17 Chris Buescher Roush Fenway Racing Ford
16 43 Erik Jones Richard Petty Motorsports Chevrolet
17 37 Ryan Preece JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet
18 3 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet
19 5 Kyle Larson Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
20 48 Alex Bowman Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
21 1 Kurt Busch Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet
22 21 Matt DiBenedetto Wooden Brothers Racing Ford
23 20 Christopher Bell Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
24 14 Chase Briscoe Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
25 23 Bubba Wallace 23XI Racing Toyota
26 41 Cole Custer Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
27 42 Ross Chastain Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet
28 53 J.J. Yeley* Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet
29 00 Quin Houff StarCom Racing Chevrolet
30 77 Justin Haley* Spire Motorsports Chevrolet
31 10 Aric Almirola Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
32 51 Cody Ware* Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet
33 52 Josh Bilicki Rick Ware Racing Ford
34 7 Corey LaJoie Spire Motorsports Chevrolet
35 38 Anthony Alfredo Entrance Row Motorsports Ford
36 78 B.J. McLeod Dwell Quick Motorsports Ford
37 15 James Davison Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Yr
* – Ineligible for Cup factors
Credit score: Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Photos

Xfinity: Defending Martinsville winner Burton seems to be for repeat from pole

Six races into the 2021 Xfinity season, Burton continues to be looking for his first win of the 12 months however is not any stranger to Martinsville’s Victory Lane. He received the 2020 fall race, the primary Xfinity occasion at Martinsville since 2006. Friday’s race would be the first time Burton begins on the entrance row for a race since Homestead 1 in June 2020, a 31-race strtch.

Justin Allgaier, who received the latest Xfinity race in Atlanta a fortnight in the past, begins second in his second front-row begin of 2021 after the opener in Daytona. He completed behind Burton at Martinsville final 12 months.

Ty Gibbs returns to the Joe Gibbs Racing #54 that Cup driver Martin Truex Jr. drove at Atlanta, whereas J.J. Yeley is scheduled to take over the #17 SS-Inexperienced Mild Racing automotive from Cody Ware. Brandon Gdovic makes his second begin in Sam Hunt Racing‘s #26; Santino Ferrucci was initially scheduled to race at Martinsville however is stepping apart as he takes half in IndyCar Sequence testing forward of his return to the Indianapolis 500 in Could. Stefan Parsons begins thirty-eighth in B.J. McLeod Motorsports’ #99 that he inherits from Mason Massey.

Two drivers are making their NASCAR débuts: George Gorham Jr. in DGM Racing‘s #90 and Matt Jaskol in MBM Motorsports’ #13. Gorham, a brief monitor racer from Florida, replaces Dexter Bean within the #90 whereas Jaskol, a karting veteran who has raced in varied ranges of open-wheel racing, takes over the #13 from Chad Finchum.

Ronnie Bassett Jr., Jordan Anderson, and Andy Lally are nonetheless locked out of the grid.

Begin Quantity Driver Group Producer
1 20 Harrison Burton Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
2 7 Justin Allgaier JR Motorsports Chevrolet
3 16 A.J. Allmendinger Kaulig Racing Chevrolet
4 18 Daniel Hemric Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
5 11 Justin Haley Kaulig Racing Chevrolet
6 22 Austin Cindric Group Penske Ford
7 98 Riley Herbst Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
8 9 Noah Gragson JR Motorsports Chevrolet
9 2 Myatt Snider Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet
10 1 Michael Annett JR Motorsports Chevrolet
11 51 Jeremy Clements Jeremy Clements Racing Chevrolet
12 39 Ryan Sieg RSS Racing Ford
13 10 Jeb Burton Kaulig Racing Chevrolet
14 4 Landon Cassill JD Motorsports Chevrolet
15 92 Josh Williams DGM Racing Chevrolet
16 54 Ty Gibbs Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
17 44 Tommy Joe Martins Martins Motorsports Chevrolet
18 0 Jeffrey Earnhardt JD Motorsports Chevrolet
19 68 Brandon Brown Brandonbilt Motorsports Chevrolet
20 66 Timmy Hill MBM Motorsports Toyota
21 78 Jesse Little B.J. McLeod Motorsports Chevrolet
22 36 Alex Labbé DGM Racing Chevrolet
23 15 Colby Howard JD Motorsports Chevrolet
24 19 Brandon Jones Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
25 26 Brandon Gdovic Sam Hunt Racing Toyota
26 74 Bayley Currey Mike Harmon Racing Chevrolet
27 02 Brett Moffitt* Our Motorsports Chevrolet
28 07 Joe Graf Jr. SS-Inexperienced Mild Racing Chevrolet
29 8 Josh Berry JR Motorsports Chevrolet
30 48 Jade Buford Huge Machine Racing Chevrolet
31 47 Kyle Weatherman Mike Harmon Racing Chevrolet
32 23 Blaine Perkins Our Motorsports Chevrolet
33 17 J.J. Yeley SS-Inexperienced Mild Racing Chevrolet
34 61 David Starr MBM Motorsports Toyota
35 6 Ryan Vargas JD Motorsports Chevrolet
36 5 Matt Mills B.J. McLeod Motorsports Chevrolet
37 90 George Gorham Jr. DGM Racing Chevrolet
38 99 Stefan Parsons B.J. McLeod Motorsports Toyota
39 52 Grey Gaulding Jimmy Means Racing Chevrolet
40 13 Matt Jaskol MBM Motorsports Chevrolet
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Yr
* – Ineligible for Xfinity factors


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *