Eire Staff Named To Face Wales In Girls’s Six Nations – Irish Rugby


Head Coach Adam Griggs has named his Eire Match Day 23 to face Wales in Saturday’s Girls’s Six Nations sport in Cardiff, with Sevens worldwide Eve Higgins set for her XVs debut within the centre and uncapped backs Emily Lane and Stacey Flood included on the replacements bench.

Eire Girls’s Rugby Podcast – Hear Now

Eire will probably be captained by Ciara Griffin within the opening sport of their 2021 Championship marketing campaign at Cardiff Arms Park (Kick-off 5pm, dwell on RTÉ2 and RTÉ Participant), with Griggs’ beginning XV exhibiting three adjustments to the facet that beat Italy at Energia Park final October.

Higgins, who has starred for Eire on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Collection in current seasons, has impressed throughout Eire’s preparations for the Six Nations and earns her debut cap in midfield alongside the skilled Sene Naoupu.

Sevens internationals Lane and Flood are included on the bench for his or her first style of Championship motion.

Eimear Considine returns to the full-back jersey as one of many three adjustments in personnel from the victory over Italy final outing, with Lauren Delany switching to the precise wing and Beibhinn Parsons lining out on the left.

21-year-old Higgins, capped 20 occasions for Eire Sevens, companions Naoupu in midfield, whereas the half-back pairing of Hannah Tyrrell and Kathryn Dane are retained having impressed in opposition to the Azzurri.

There may be an unchanged entrance row named by Griggs as Lindsay Peat, Cliodhna Moloney and Linda Djougang as soon as once more pack down collectively, with the fit-again Aoife McDermott returning to the second row alongside Nichola Fryday.

Griffin leads the facet from quantity eight, with Dorothy Wall set for her fifth cap at blindside flanker and Claire Molloy named at openside.

Uncapped duo Lane and Flood present the half-back cowl on the replacements bench, the place they’re joined by forwards Neve Jones, Katie O’Dwyer, Laura Feely, Brittany Hogan and Hannah O’Connor, with Enya Breen offering the extra backline cowl.

Commenting on his choice, Head Coach Griggs says the competitors for locations throughout the squad has intensified in current weeks because the squad stepped up their preparations on the IRFU Excessive Efficiency Centre.

“We’re extraordinarily assured within the squad now we have chosen,” he stated. “We now have had a substantial amount of time to organize collectively and this group of gamers have earned the accountability to convey the excessive requirements now we have set ourselves all through coaching into this primary sport.

“Wales at residence will convey a robust problem and we want to verify we begin the sport nicely and construct a platform that permits us to play our sport and begin this competitors off with a win.”

Eire’s opening sport of the 2021 Girls’s Six Nations is dwell on RTÉ and the RTÉ Participant within the Republic of Eire, whereas there may be protection on the BBC iPlayer and BBC Sport Web site for supporters within the UK.

IRELAND WOMEN’S Staff & Replacements (v Wales Girls, 2021 Girls’s Six Nations Championship Spherical 2, Cardiff Arms Park, Saturday, April 10, kick-off 5pm)

15. Eimear Considine (UL Bohemian/Munster)(15 caps)
14. Lauren Delany (Sale Sharks/IQ Rugby)(12)
13. Eve Higgins (Railway Union/Leinster)*
12. Sene Naoupu (Previous Belvedere/ Leinster)(38)
11. Beibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe/Blackrock Faculty/Connacht)(8)
10. Hannah Tyrrell (Previous Belvedere/Leinster)(17)
9. Kathryn Dane (Previous Belvedere/Ulster)(10)

1. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster)(31)
2. Cliodhna Moloney (Wasps/IQ Rugby)(23)
3. Linda Djougang (Previous Belvedere/Leinster)(9)
4. Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/Leinster)(13)
5. Nichola Fryday (Blackrock Faculty/Connacht)(15)
6. Dorothy Wall (Blackrock Faculty/ Munster)(4)
7. Claire Molloy (Wasps/IQ Rugby)(70)
8. Ciara Griffin (Captain)(UL Bohemian/Munster)(33)


16. Neve Jones (Malone/Ulster)(1)
17. Katie O’Dwyer (Railway Union/Leinster)(1)
18. Laura Feely (Blackrock Faculty/Connacht)(16)
19. Brittany Hogan (DCU/Previous Belvedere/Ulster)(1)
20. Hannah O’Connor (Blackrock Faculty/Leinster)(2)
21. Emily Lane (Blackrock Faculty/Munster)*
22. Stacey Flood (Railway Union/Leinster)*
23. Enya Breen (UL Bohemian/Munster)(4).

* Denotes uncapped participant

Earlier Story
New #ReadyForRugby Assist Webinars To Assist Golf equipment & Faculties Put together To Carry out


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *