Jean-Éric Vergne wins in Spherical Three of the Formulation E World Championship – The Checkered Flag

Two-time Formulation E Champion Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah) was the victor within the 2021 ABB FIA Formulation E Rome ePrix, offering motion and pleasure by Formulation E’s most interesting gladiators within the Everlasting Metropolis for the third time, with the 2 earlier winners of the race proper behind him: Panasonic Jaguar Racing’s Sam Chook and Mitch Evans.

Vergne, who certified fifth, fought with Lucas Di Grassi (Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler) and Robin Frijns (Envision Virgin Racing) for the lead all through the race.

“Veni, Vidi, Vici” stated the Frenchman after securing his tenth victory within the championship. In Free Apply 1, he was hit by Oliver Turvey (NIO 333 Formulation E) alongside Jake Dennis (BMW i Andretti Motorsport) which might have compromised his day of racing.

The race was nevertheless not freed from incidents that introduced out the brand new MINI Electrical Pacesetter security automobile: Di Grassi suffered a suspected drivetrain failure that brought about a significant occasion in direction of the tip of the race. He misplaced energy abruptly, attempting to tug off the racing line to let others drive previous.

Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes-EQ Formulation E Crew), who was proper behind him, tried to keep away from the collision however drove over a raised manhole cowl and misplaced management of his automobile. Nyck De Vries (Mercedes), the championship chief, hit Vandoorne within the diffuser, placing each Mercedes automobiles out of the ePrix.

Vandoorne, who began the race on pole place, had beforehand been concerned in a lap one incident with André Lotterer (TAG Heuer Porsche Formulation E) , with the latter selecting up a five-second penalty. The penalty put Lotterer behind the pack on the finish and promoted rookie Nick Cassidy (Envision Virgin Racing) to tenth place and his first level in Formulation E.

Maybe the celebrities of the race have been the 2 Jaguar Racing drivers, with Chook and Evans climbing from midfield begins to complete on the rostrum. Each drivers carried out wonderful overtakes and used their assault modes to good use. The outcome places Chook to the highest of the championship standings heading into Sunday’s second race of the weekend. Had the security automobile not come out for the Vandoorne/de Vries incident, then there might have been a fair higher outcome for Jaguar, though they’ll rejoice their first-ever two-car podium end in Formulation E.

Frijns had a comparatively quiet race by his requirements however was nonetheless capable of declare good factors with a fourth place end, simply forward of Nissan eDAMS driver Sébastien Buemi, whereas René Rast (Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler) drove fantastically to say sixth. Pascal Wehrlein (TAG Heuer Porsche Formulation E), Alex Lynn (Mahindra Racing), Maximilian Günther (BMW i Andretti Motorsport) and Cassidy accomplished the factors. Günther was fortunate to not crash out, spinning wildly on the end straight mid-way by means of the race and amazingly avoiding main harm regardless of his rear wing hitting the wall.

Antonio Felix Da Costa (DS Techeetah), the 2019/2020 Formulation E Champion, had a lacklustre efficiency, beginning in eigthteenth however not ending the race. That is regardless of a brand new powertrain being added to the DS Techeetah Formulation E automobile for this weekend in Rome. Mechanical points additionally ended the races of Alexander Sims (Mahindra Racing), Edoardo Mortara (ROKIT Venturi Racing) and Dennis, whereas Turvey failed to start out as a result of harm brought about in his free apply crash.

Two Drive-By penalties got in the course of the race to Oliver Rowland (Nissan E.DAMS) and Sérgio Sette Câmara (Dragon/Penske Autosport) for overuse of energy. Rowland had simply inherited the lead after the Vandoorne/Lotterer crash when he obtained notification of the penalty, with the drive-through ending his possibilities of a superb outcome.

1 25 Jean-Eric Vergne FRA DS Techeetah 48:47.177
2 10 Sam Chook GBR Jaguar Racing +0.461
3 20 Mitch Evans NZL Jaguar Racing +0.756
4 4 Robin Frijns NED Envision Virgin Racing +1.034
5 23 Sebastien Buemi CHE Nissan e.DAMS +3.142
6 33 Rene Rast GER Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler +3.534
7 99 Pascal Wehrlein GER TAG Heuer Porsche Formulation E Crew +3.918
8 94 Alex Lynn GBR Mahindra Racing +5.720
9 28 Maximilian Gunther GER BMW i Andretti Motorsport +18.296
10 37 Nick Cassidy NZL Envision Virgin Racing +18.763
11 88 Tom Blomqvist GBR NIO 333 FE Crew +19.089
12 71 Norman Nato FRA ROKIT Venturi Racing +20.045
13 22 Oliver Rowland GBR Nissan e.DAMS +20.270
14 6 Nico Muller CHE Dragon/Penske Autosport +21.155
15 7 Sergio Sette Camara BRZ Dragon/Penske Autosport +21.415
16 36 Andre Lotterer GER TAG Heuer Porsche Formulation E Crew +22.987
RET 17 Nyck de Vries NED Mercedes-EQ Formulation E Crew Retired
RET 11 Lucas di Grassi BRZ Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler Retired
RET 5 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL Mercedes-EQ Formulation E Crew Retired
RET 13 Antonio Felix da Costa POR DS Techeetah Retired
RET 27 Jake Dennis GBR BMW i Andretti Motorsport Retired
RET 48 Edoardo Mortara CHE ROKIT Venturi Racing Retired
RET 29 Alexander Sims GBR Mahindra Racing Retired
DNS 8 Oliver Turvey GBR NIO 333 FE Crew Did Not Begin

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *