Courtenay failed to make the weight and only Mitchell will challenge for WBA title


British Shannon Courtenay misplaced the World Boxing Affiliation (WBA) bantamweight title on the size on Friday and Jamie Mitchell would be the just one competing for the black and gold belt tomorrow on the Echo Area, in Liverpool, England.

Courtenay weighed in at 120.5 kilos and though she was given two hours to make the 118, she was unable to take action, so the principles for this sort of state of affairs have been utilized.

WBA contest Rule D.9 states that if a champion fails to make the load after the 2 (2) extra hours granted, he’ll lose the title. If the challenger makes the load, and the challenger wins the bout, he shall be topped the brand new champion. If the champion who didn’t make the load is the winner of the bout, the title shall be declared vacant.

Mitchell, who stopped the scales at 117.5 kilos, will turn into the champion if she wins the bout on Saturday night time. Whether it is Courtenay who wins, the championship will turn into vacant.


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *