IPL 2021 Qualifier 2, KKR vs DC: Who won yesterday’s match?

A sensational fightback from Delhi Capitals (DC) bowlers was not sufficient to stop Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) from reserving their place within the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 remaining.

Chasing 136 for victory, KKR had been cruising at 123 for 1 within the sixteenth over. Nevertheless, a flurry of wickets noticed them crumble to 130 for 7 very quickly. However with six wanted off two balls, Rahul Tripathi clattered a size ball from Ravichandran Ashwin over the bowler’s head for a most to sink DC.

KKR’s gorgeous batting collapse started with the final ball of the sixteenth over when Nitish Rana (13) hit Anrich Nortje straight to lengthy leg. Nonetheless, with solely 13 to win off 24 balls, KKR’s win appeared a formality. The well-set Shubman Gill (46), nevertheless, quickly fell to Avesh Khan whereas enjoying a drained shot and giving a catch behind the wickets.

Additionally Test: IPL Stay Rating | IPL Factors Desk 2021 | IPL agenda

Dinesh Karthik then perished for a duck, cleaned up off an inside edge as he tried to slog Kagiso Rabada throughout the road. With 10 wanted off 12 deliveries, Nortje bowled an excellent penultimate over, conceding solely three. Within the final ball of his spell, he dismissed KKR skipper Eoin Morgan (0), who chopped the ball onto the stumps.

KKR now wanted seven off the final over. After a dot ball, Ashwin trapped Shakib Al Hasan (0) lbw because the left-hander missed his scoop. Subsequent ball, Sunil Narine (0) lofted one straight to long-off. Tripathi, nevertheless, launched the hat-trick supply over the ropes to place KKR within the remaining with a nervy three-wicket win.

Earlier, after KKR’s bowlers restricted DC to 135 for five in Qualifier 2, Venkatesh Iyer (55) and Shubman (46) added 96 for the opening wicket to make the chase a breeze earlier than the batting collapse. KKR eased their technique to 51 for no loss on the finish of the powerplay. The primary ball of the innings by Nortje was crunched by the covers by Gill for a boundary. Iyer then hit sixes in two consecutive overs from Axar Patel and Kagiso Rabada.

The left-arm spinner was launched over deep midwicket. After that, the assured KKR left-hander chipped down the monitor to Rabada and slammed him over long-on. The DC pacer had an opportunity to get his revenge in the identical over as Iyer popped a return catch to the the bowler. Nevertheless, Rabada spilled the low likelihood regardless of getting each fingers to it.

Aside from discovering the boundaries, one other spectacular function of KKR’s opening partnership was that the batters positioned the ball within the gaps and ran arduous between wickets. Their intent put DC underneath better strain and the dew issue didn’t assist the fielding aspect both.

After a few quiet overs, Iyer clobbered Axar for an additional most over deep midwicket, as KKR had been in full command at 76 for no loss on the midway stage. Iyer quickly reached his third fifty of the season off 38 balls by dabbing Axar to brief third man. The KKR’s opener’s great innings got here to an finish on 55 as he slammed Rabada straight to deep sq. leg.

At the same time as Gill was intent on rotating the strike at one finish, Rana got here in and launched Axar for a most straight over the bowler’s head. On the primary ball of the fifteenth over, Ashwin dropped a easy catch of Rana at thirdman. The KKR left-hander sliced a slog off Avesh Khan however was fortunate to outlive. KKR allowed DC to make a comeback with some odd batting, however Tripathi held his nerves ultimately.

DC combat their technique to 135 for five on a tricky batting floor

KKR players celebrate a wicket. Pic: IPLT20.COM
KKR gamers rejoice a wicket. Pic: IPLT20.COM

DC posted 135 for five after being despatched into bat on a tricky floor in Sharjah. On a pitch the place the ball was not approaching to the bat, Shikhar Dhawan top-scored with a labored 36 off 39. In the direction of the top of the innings, Shreyas Iyer chipped in with a beneficial 30* off 27, together with a six off the final ball, to assist DC attain a preventing rating.

KKR bowlers dominated the innings as DC crawled their technique to 38 for 1 on the finish of the powerplay. Prithvi Shaw regarded in good contact once more, clobbering Shakib Al Hasan for an enormous six over deep midwicket firstly of the third over. He adopted it up with a 4 with a reduce between level and brief thirdman.

On the different finish, Dhawan slog-swept Sunil Narine for 2 consecutive sixes. Nevertheless, Varun Chakravarthy broke the harmful stand, trapping Shaw (18) plumb in entrance of the stumps with one which turned in sharply. DC’s comeback man Marcus Stoinis was promoted to no.3. Nevertheless, he couldn’t get any momentum into his innings and was cleaned up for a 23-ball 18, attempting to slog Shivam Mavi.

Dhawan’s struggles ended firstly of the fifteenth over as his try to go after Chakravarthy ended as a easy catch to backward level. DC skipper Rishabh Pant (6) didn’t final lengthy both. He tried to heave Lockie Ferguson, however introduced a prime edge to mid-off. Pant’s dismissal left DC reeling at 90 for 4.

There was a stroke of luck for Shimron Hetmyer within the early a part of his innings. He was brilliantly caught by a diving Shubman Gill at long-on whereas attempting to tackle Chakravarthy. The DC batter was again within the dugout, however after watching a number of replays, the third umpire concluded that the KKR leggie had overstepped.

Hetmyer rode his luck by clattering Ferguson for 2 sixes on the on-side within the 18th over. After he was run out for 17, going for a non-existent single, Iyer slammed Mavi for a 4 and 6 within the final over to present DC some momentum. The final ball of the over was slashed straight over the bowler’s head for a most.

IPL 2021 Qualifier 2, KKR vs DC: Who was the Man of the Match?

KKR bowlers had been distinctive on the day. Chakravarthy stifled DC and returned with figures of two for 26. Ferguson and Mavi had been economical, claiming one wicket apiece. Throughout the chase, Venkatesh Iyer and Gill batted brilliantly to place the KKR in command.

For DC, Dhawan top-scored with a hard-fought 36 whereas Shreyas Iyer chipped in a beneficial 30 not out. On the bowling entrance, Nortje, Ashwin and Rabada all claimed two wickets apiece.

Venkatesh Iyer was named Man of the Match for his dominant half-century in the course of the chase.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *