Jerry Rice Award: Complete history of the FCS freshman honor

The Jerry Rice Award is given every year to probably the most excellent freshman participant in FCS soccer. UIW quarterback Cameron Ward acquired the 2020-21 award.

Here is every part you could know concerning the annual honor, introduced by Stats Carry out FCS.

FCS Jerry Rice Award: What’s it and who’s it named after?

The Jerry Rice Award debuted in 2011 to honor probably the most excellent freshman participant within the Soccer Championship Subdivision.

A nationwide panel of greater than 40 sports activities info and media relations administrators, broadcasters, writers, and different dignitaries vote on the award’s winner, primarily based on gamers’ regular-season performances. Voting is performed earlier than the beginning of the FCS playoffs.

The Jerry Rice Award is considered one of 5 nationwide awards introduced by STATS FCS:

  • Walter Payton Award (FCS offensive participant of the yr)
  • Buck Buchanan Award (FCS defensive participant of the yr)
  • Jerry Rice Award (FCS freshman of the yr)
  • Eddie Robinson Award (FCS coach of the yr)
  • Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete of the Yr

The freshman participant of the yr award’s namesake, Jerry Rice, was an NFL legend with the San Francisco 49ers, additionally enjoying for 3 different groups. Rice earned 13 NFL Professional Bowl journeys, 10 first-team All-Execs, three Tremendous Bowls, and a Tremendous Bowl MVP amongst different accolades. The 1985 first-round choose started his journey at FCS program Mississippi Valley State from 1981-1984. 

Rice, an All-American large receiver, measured in at 6’2’’ and 200 kilos. He earned All-American accolades twice, setting information for receptions, yards, and touchdowns. Rice is a member of each the Professional Soccer Corridor of Fame in Canton, Ohio and the School Soccer Corridor of Fame in Atlanta, Georgia.

Fordham Athletics

Fordham working again Chase Edmonds gained the 2014 Jerry Rice Award

FCS Jerry Rice Award: When is the winner introduced?

The Jerry Rice Award winner is revealed yearly after the conclusion of the FCS common season. The 2020-21 recipient was introduced Monday, Might 13, 2021. 

All 5 STATS FCS nationwide honors are celebrated on the STATS FCS Awards Banquet and Presentation, although the Jerry Rice, Eddie Robinson, and Doris Robinson winners are all introduced forward of time. The Payton and Buchanan award winners are revealed for the primary time as a part of the ceremony.

FCS HISTORY: The 9 all-time winningest FCS applications | 7 of probably the most unbreakable FCS information

The primary Jerry Rice Award watch checklist is launched within the preseason by STATS FCS. The checklist has updates periodically all through the common season, culminating within the announcement of finalists.

FCS Jerry Rice Award: Full historical past of previous recipients

UIW quarterback Cameron Ward is the tenth recipient of the Jerry Rice Award. Ward set a college file with 24 landing passes and completed third nationally with 30.5 completions per recreation and 376.7 passing yards per recreation in six video games. 

Quarterbacks and working backs have accounted for a position-best 4 winners for the reason that award debuted in 2011. One large receiver and one linebacker have additionally been honored. No college has a number of winners.

FCS CHAMPIONSHIP: How the FCS playoffs work | Faculties with most titles | Full championship historical past

Different notable previous honorees embody eventual NFL stars Cooper Kupp (Jap Washington, 2013), Chase Edmonds (Fordham, 2014) and Trey Lance (2019). See the total checklist under.

FCS Walter Payton Award winners (2011-2021):

2020 Cameron Ward, UIW Quarterback
2019 Trey Lance, North Dakota State Quarterback
2018 Josh Davis, Weber State Working Again
2017 Bryson Armstrong, Kennesaw State Linebacker
2016 A.J. Hines, Duquesne Working Again
2015 Case Cookus, Northern Arizona Quarterback
2014 Chase Edmonds, Fordham Working Again
2013 Cooper Kupp, Jap Washington Huge Receiver
2012 John Robertson, Villanova Quarterback
2011 Terrance West, Towson Working Again

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *