Lenoir-Rhyne’s Kyle Dugger wins 2019 Cliff Harris Award

LITTLE ROCK, Arkansas  Kyle Dugger, senior security from Division II Lenoir-Rhyne College in Hickory, North Carolina, was chosen because the winner of the 2019 Cliff Harris Award  offered yearly by the Little Rock Landing Membership and Wright Lindsey Jennings, LLP. The award honors the nation’s small faculty defensive participant of the 12 months representing Division II, Division III and NAIA schools and universities.

Greater than 5,000 defensive gamers from over 500 schools are eligible to win the award. The $3,000 Cliff Harris Trophy will likely be offered by Cliff Harris on the Little Rock Landing Membership’s annual awards banquet on January 9. Particular visitor speaker for the banquet will likely be two-time Heisman Trophy winner Archie Griffin.

HARLON HILL HARDWARE: Slippery Rock’s Rivers wins 2019 award

Dugger, a 6’2 220 security from Decatur, Georgia, was chosen a 2019 AFCA All-American in addition to All-South Athletic Convention each as a security and return specialist for the second consecutive 12 months. Even with an abbreviated senior season attributable to damage, Dugger was nonetheless a drive as a cross defender and run stopper. His first defensive collection of the 2019 season resulted in a 30 yard interception return for a landing within the first quarter vs St Augustine and a 63 yard interception return within the second quarter. Twice throughout his collegiate profession, Dugger returned two punts in a single recreation for touchdowns together with two scores within the first six minutes of his 2019 recreation vs UVA Clever. He has a complete of six profession punt returns for touchdowns and holds the varsity for many return yards. Dugger has 237 profession tackles, 10 interceptions, 36 cross break ups, 6 compelled fumbles, 6 fumble recoveries and two blocked kicks to associate with his six punt return touchdowns. His Lenoir-Rhyne workforce completed 13-1 and ranked No. 4 within the nation in 2019, its second highest end in class historical past. Dugger will play within the 2019 Reese’s Senior Bowl recreation on January 25 in Cell, Alabama.

From Cliff Harris:

“First, let me say congratulations to all of our 2019 Cliff Harris Award finalists and nominees. You all have performed excellent protection this season and I’m proud to have my identify and soccer legacy related to every certainly one of you thru this award.

It’s at all times difficult choosing the nation’s prime defensive small faculty participant once you begin with over 500 schools and 5,000 defensive gamers. Nonetheless this 12 months’s winner, Kyle Dugger, actually stood out as probably the most explosive small faculty gamers I’ve seen in a few years. Even with an damage shortened season, his impression on video games was fierce and dominate. His arduous work has taken him from just one small faculty soccer scholarship in highschool to turning into probably the most elite small faculty defensive participant within the nation. Congratulations Kyle!”

MORE: Re-live West Florida’s first DII soccer championship

The Cliff Harris Award acknowledges the highest vote recipients from all three divisions. 

Division II & general winner:  Kyle Dugger, senior security, Lenoir-Rhyne

Division III (tie):

  • Jeff Hector, senior defensive again, Redlands (California)
  • Jordan McInerney, senior defensive lineman, Lake Forest Faculty

NAIA (tie):

  • Jason Ferris, senior linebacker, Montana Western
  • Shaq Bradford, senior defensive lineman, Kansas Wesleyan

Previous Cliff Harris Award winners, finalists


  • Division II & general winner: Corey Ballentine, Washburn College 
  • Division III (tie): 
    • Nick Giorgio, Springfield Faculty
    • Javon Muhammad, MacMurray Faculty    
  • NAIA (tie):
    • Curt Boeke, Dakota State
    • Shaq Bradford, Kansas Wesleyan


  • Division III & general winner: Michael Joseph, College of Dubuque
  • Division II (tie):
    • Marcus Martin,Slippery Rock (Pa.)
    • Nathan Shepherd, Fort Hays State
  • NAIA: Darius Worth, Siena Heights


  • Division II & Total Winner: Connor Harris, Lindenwood
  • Division III: Chyron Brown-Wallace, St Lawrence College
  • NAIA: Sam Van Ginkel, Northwestern Faculty


  • Division II & Total Winner: Marquis Christian, Midwestern State
  • Division III (tie):
    • Ryan Aelker, Blufton College
    • Tom Lally, Mount Union
  • NAIA: Adam Sauder, Taylor College


  • Division II & Total Winner: Darius Allen, CSU-Pueblo 
  • Division III: Tyre Coleman, Hobart & William Smith
  • NAIA (tie):
    • Takari Johnson, Concordia Ann Arbor
    • Ty Phillips, Missouri Valley


Division II & Total Winner – Pierre Desir, CB – Lindenwood

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *